We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #86 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Expected more service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was very nice with a great location. (providing what you want to do) I love NOLA so even as a solo visitor for one night I booked with SPG as I always do as a platinum member. Upon arrival I was upgraded (sunday night helps with that always) and the room was nice and shower was just fine.

I ran into problem with a very slow internet connection and after making every attempt to fix it on my end... after speaking to a colleague I realized it was simply the internet was bad. This made it very difficult and had to walk and send some documents from a coffee shop. All easy fixes in all honesty.

Where i was very disappointed was with the cleanliness of my bed. After waking up and checking that all window were shut as it felt if someone was smoking in my face I realized my pillow had not been washed or were just that old that they reeked of smoke and it actually gave me a bit of a soar throat. When i told the staff, i was met with a simple. Sorry, while I appreciate that at 6am I was expecting something a little more above and beyond. So I went on a walk because I couldn't sleep any longer. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: if you want any view of the craziness dont expect to have a quiet room. Its BOURBON street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    149
    57
    18
    19
See reviews for
51
103
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I will do my best to break down the whole trip.

Hotel Itself: Very nice and clean rooms. The beds are so comfortable with excellent quality of bedding and pillows. Guest services were great! We slept in everyday, and before we left we would request to make up the room and it was done by the time we came back.

Location: It is right on Bourbon Street with parties everywhere, and every third unit has a bar or live band playing. Find drink specials or happy hour at some bars. Prices will fluctuate among bars that are near each other, so don't be surprised. It doesn't to hurt to ask what the prices and/or specials are.

Go to Pat O'Briens and try the famous Hurricane Drink, and try the Hand Grenade from Tropical Isle. The Hurricane is $8 plus $3 for the glass which you keep and its worth it. The Hand Grenades are $8 and $7 for a refill, but its worth the extra $1 to keep the glass.

Only drink in plastic containers/bottles on the street. Don't use glass bottles or the police may stop you.

If you are a Seafood lover, there are several places along the street to try. Have a great time!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no balconies, some have balconies facing the pool, while other ones have a balcony f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff and the hotel are above average for the area. There is plenty of security at night to keep people out who do not belong there at night. The folks at the front desk are always nice and attentive to your needs. The rooms are nice and the beds are very comfortable. I am military and was in the area for training. The hotel going rate was well over $300 for a single night. I talked to the thin gentleman (can't remember his name) who works in the afternoon. Very nice man and an asset to the hotel. He talked with management and gave me a rate near the government rate. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for some type of discount to offset the very high rate this hotel commands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went on another cruise from New Orleans and decided to stay in the Quarter again, but this time was a bachelor's cruise. Had to pay for parking, bummer. Staff was ok, it was a great place to be for what we wanted to do. For the price we only spent, we got a balcony and view on Burbon street and had a blast. Very old building with a lot of restoration and modernization kept up. Not like some of the forgotten b&bs or smaller hotels in the Quarter.

Room Tip: Burbon Street balcony, second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rooms are nice (although nothing special), there's a cute small pool, a tiny gym, and the location is right in the middle of the party (Bourbon st.). There is good free wi-fi throughout the hotel (including the rooms).
On the minus side, the shower had low-flow (seems to be a problem in other hotels in New Orleans as well), and the water was not always hot. In the sink, there was no real hot water (lukewarm at best), which made shaving a drag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first time to New Orleans and this hotel and location was magnificent. Staff was great and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good also. The lobby was a bit noisy but that is Bourbon Street. Outside pool was very comfortable with plenty of room.

Room Tip: Rooms directly on Bourbon Street are noisy till 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights. My main complaint is with the maid service. I travel a lot, and found that service poor. First, the maid staff I encountered, with the exception of 2, were not pleasant and seemed upset to be there. Second, there is a coffee maker in the room. There was no creamer when I arrived and none was put there during my stay. Nor was the coffee or sugar replaced. When I returned in the evening, I noticed a green substance, with the consistency of shampoo, dripped down the inside of the tub. Nothing in the bathroom was that color, so I don't know what that was, but it was not there when I left. The bed was not "made", but rather the covers were just thrown back on.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.