We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location...if you want to party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter to your Saves list
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Location...if you want to party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Located on the 500 block of Bourbon Street and with half of the rooms having outward facing balconies means you've hit the jackpot on branded hotel and location. The balance of rooms have "courtyard" facing balconies and are much quieter. Only have of the street balconies face on to Bourbon, the rest face a side street...which does NOT make it any quieter. The staff here is amazingly helpful. Security is also top-notch, even though you're staying in the middle of the party you don't have to worry about the party coming up to your room as a room key is required to even access the lobby during evening hours. There is a small piano lobby bar if you're looking to people watch without being in the middle of the party.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night: courtyard. If you want to sleep during the day: street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    216
    78
    33
    28
See reviews for
85
164
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip. I was on the second floor. It was loud every night--weeknights in October. The hotel is cramped and dingey, although they were working on it while I was there. Nevertheless, there was severely peeling wall paper, unfinished ceilings (drywall only) and trash in the hall.

Our meeting was interrupted by "street performers" just outside the window begging for money and banging on plastic buckets. That's what we got for booking a meeting on Bourbon Street.

I arrived to find a note in my room stating that the tap water was not only unsafe to drink, but I shouldn't even wash my hands or take a shower until further notice. This was probably the fault of the New Orleans Public Works or Water Supply, and not the hotel, but no one at check in said anything to me. They must have figured that a note would suffice. The hotel also never informed me that the water ban was ever lifted. I was there for four days.

I didn't eat at the hotel because there were plenty of places close by that seemed more appealing.

To be fair, I am not a fan of New Orleans, especially not a fan of Bourbon Street. I figure that if someone is interested in Bourboun Street then they probably are not too interested in cleanliness nor are they interesteduch in appearances. If you plan to spend your time in New Orleans under the influence of alcohol, you probably won't notice the sub-par nature of this hotel. For me, I'll never return to this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel only recently became a Sheraton Four Points. It is still being remodeled and staff is not yet very well trained (although they all were very nice and tried hard). Some negatives include: front desk giving incorrect info about Platinum gift (they said 500 points, but only credited me with 125…. Starwood ultimately upped this to 250, saying that is all Four Points locations gives to Platinums); not telling us that our floor hallways would be full of drop cloths, ladders and painters between (& beyond) elevators and our room on check-out day; there were no glasses (plastic or otherwise) in room (maid ultimately brought all she could find –some glass goblets); front desk ok-ing 4 PM checkout but still being bothered several times by manager and maid (even though we had a do not disturb sign on door) asking us when we were checking out (they said the front desk had not entered our late check-out information into computer) on afternoon of check-out; there were no sockets near desk to plug in anything and finally the thermostats was one of those “cool only” type that actually made room even colder if you set it too much above ambient temperature. On the plus side: location is great (on Bourbon Street in middle of French Quarter) and even though we had a balcony (facing side street) the room was acceptably quiet, bed was very comfortable, and the shower power and water temperature were fine. My wife loved the place and the room, finding it “charming” for a boutique type hotel. My advice is to wait until they get their act together and then this should be a fine place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

On arrival for the first time in Bourbon Street, even at 1am on a Monday morning the shock over just how much this hotel is in the middle of the craziness of Bourbon St will hit you. There were police out the front on horseback and thousands of people everywhere, all drinking cocktails and having fun.
We were allocated a room at the back which we were thankful for, although the music and madness died down by 2am.
Rooms were fairly small, and had a double bed only, all the amenities were present from hairdryers to safe. The room had a nice balcony overlooking a side street in the French Quarter.
Bathroom was well maintained and had a bath.
Remainder of the hotel is well maintained and they are in the process of repainting the halls.
Swimming pool is nice and is surrounded by the hotel, giving it a nice outlook, although you loose the sun pretty early in the afternoon.
A good choice for those who want to be in the middle of the action, and not bothered by the noise, parties and good times happening outside. If so, stay in French Market or on Canal Street.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel if you a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place was wonderful as the location wsa close to everying in the French Quarter and I was lucky enough to have a room away from the noise in Bourbon Street. Gorgeous pool area, delightful concierge and lovely ambience. I just loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street so you get less noise from Bourbon Street at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Travelling with a tour. Not a location I would have picked if I'd had a choice but was changed at the last minute due to storm damage on our original hotel. Bourbon Street at night was a bit too much for us. The rooms were OK but nothing special. Beds comfy as all the beds on the tour had been. All the essentials in the bathroom and shower was good. Bathroom only small. I requested a quiet room. We were on the 3rd Floor overlooking the pool and we could not hear anything from the street. The staff were very friendly and obliging.
Breakfast was another story. Our tour was segrated into another room for breakfast which was classed as an American breakfast. This was the worse breakfast we had experienced on the whole trip. Juice/lukewarm tea and coffee out of a flask. Toast and jam, scrambled egg and fatty bacon. No Cereal - No Yoghurts - No waffles or pancakes and the same every day.
Don't get an inclusive breakfast go out and get breakfast. A better breakfast selection was available in the main dining room but was expensive as it was costed per item.
The Pool was nice and quiet. Very clean and water nice and warm,

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool to get a quiet room and a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Four Points by Sheraton was a very nice hotel. I usually have trouble sleeping away from home but not this time! The staff was helpful with anything I asked and I feel they went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable. I had a room on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking Toulouse. It was quiet, clean and I didn't have to worry about all the noise over Bourbon St. The only problem we had at all was the A/C. It was so hot and humid and the fan was all that was working. The maintenance guy came in and looked at it right away but it quit working again within an hour. We were only staying a couple of nights so we just let it go. Otherwise, everything was great.

Room Tip: I loved the room with a balcony on Toulouse St. It was quiet but still enough going on in the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.