We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what fun !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock n Bowl - Mid City Lanes

Rock n Bowl - Mid City Lanes
3016 S. Carrollton Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118
504 861 1700
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 201 Nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Dance Club/ Discos, Bowling Alleys, Clubs
Activities: Drinking, Nightlife
Attraction details
cape breton ns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what fun !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

this was our first trip to new orleans for jazz fest and we almost didn't go to the rock and bowl- it's a bit out of the way and there was so much else going on . but on a monday night after the first wkend of jazz fest we got it together , figured out what trolley and bus to take(it's easy online ) and headed out . We saw deacon john and amanda shaw that night and had an absolutely great time . drinks are reasonably priced , cover charge was 12$ online, parmesan thin fries were a great snack and oh my but the people did dance . altogether we spent 8 nights in the city through jazz fest time went out to lots of places and just loved the city but the rock and bowl was just great fun and one of our favorites .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    50
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good, non-smoking venue for solid acts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Your experience will depend heavily on who's playing as the crowd and atmosphere varies a fair amount. It's always a good time though so even if you don't know the band, you'll have fun. Pre-show, food at ye olde college inn nearby is a good choice. There are also a number of great places a short drive away.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“rocking good time during Jazzfest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was the 2nd time I was at Rock and Bowl. They get first class local new Orleans acts. For $25 we saw Amanda Shaw, Eric Lindell, and Tab Benoit, whose blues/rock/energetic style brought the house down. You can get food such as jambalaya while there. The bartenders did a great job, working their butts off to serve the large crowd. There are 20 lanes for bowling too. How cool. The only drawback is the limited seating, so get there early and stay for a while. And catching cab after a late show can take a while, but be patient.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Funky, real, extremely friendly, good food and music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were there on the first night that they offered BBQed oysters -- fabulous. Their hamburgers are local, patuered and great too. You can get in a game of bowling while waiting for the music to start or can even bowl and listen to/dance to the music at the same time -- it is all one room.
This is a great locals place, but tourists will love it and the cab fare from the French Quarter was only about $12. Highly recommend as a unique New Orleans venue and a great night out!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“awesome new location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have always loved the old location but the new digs are great with so much more space. It is a much more comfortable experience now.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock n Bowl - Mid City Lanes also viewed

 

Been to Rock n Bowl - Mid City Lanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock n Bowl - Mid City Lanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.