We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food/Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huck Finn's Cafe

Huck Finn's Cafe
135 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-529-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #365 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Huck Finn's serves authentic cajun and creole food in a lovely New Orleans setting. We offer new Orleans signature drinks in a sports bar with 15 TVs. Come try the fried or blackened alligator and wash it down with our Signature Gator Bite drink.
Redlands, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food/Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

They handled our group of 16 in spectacular fashion. There were 10 12-15 year olds and six adults. We had multiple seperate checks and the waitress handled with ease. The food was spectacular. The Crawfish Etouffe was AWESOME!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    215
    88
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Catfish Etoufee excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We asked our tour guide (grew up in the area) where to eat for "authentic" NOLA food. He recommneded Hucks. I was a bit resistant (sooo many choices) but husband wanted to go. I am glad we did. No line on a Saturday night (6:30 pm ish) and GREAT food. The tour guide told us that the recipes there have been handed down from generation to generation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gulf shrimp swimming in BBQ sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Po Boy BBQ shrimp sandwich was tasty and fresh. Sauce was spicy but not hot. FF were hot and cooked to perfection. Great for a quick bite when out on the town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Basic po boy sandwich around $15. We had a coupon so the server automatically added her "2O%" tip to the bill based on the price without the coupon. Yet who says she deserved it or that's what I thought her service was worth, then the charge receipt had a space to add the tip. Pat O'Briens or Mannings has a real New Orleans hearty meal for the same price and far better staff, service, and atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CajunEncounters, Director of Sales at Huck Finn's Cafe, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
HI njmomongo,

We are appalled to hear this happened to you and are looking into the issue now.

It is important to us that your experience at Huck Finn's Cafe is of great value, and we do not take falling short of this standard very lightly.

Please trust that we will get to the bottom of this instance and that it will not happen again.

Thank you for your time with us and for your visit to New Orleans. We hope that you drop by again to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Cajun food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We heard the food was good and we weren't dissapointed. The place was a bit cold and drafty - we asked to switch tables and they were very polite and accommodating. The bathrooms were being renovated, but you can't fault a place for construction unless they take forever.
The blackened alligator, blackened catfish and the jumbalaya were all very good!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huck Finn's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Huck Finn's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huck Finn's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.