We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Orleans West KOA
Save
You added New Orleans West KOA to your Saves list
11129 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70123   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay while visiting New Orleans. Very nice people, well run, clean, well maintained. Camped there in a 30' fifth wheel for 2 nights. The person that helped back us in to our space was the best EVER! Road the bike trail across the street along the levy, visited New Orleans and hiked through the Jean Lafitte Preserve. Great time, could have stayed longer...will camp there again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Tower, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We stayed at this campground on January 28th for one night. The employees were very friendly and helpful. i had an issue with our camper and was assisted by the staff. Campground is close enough to French Quarter to drive the short distance. They did have a bus service but we were not ready to go when it left. would return to this same campground.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fallsburg, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

2 years ago my wife and I stayed at the campgrounds and thought it was good but needed some improvements. When we pulled in this time I was pleased that 2 of our complaints were taken seriously and improved. We had complained that even though they were pet friendly they didn't have a place to let our dogs run around. This time they have a great fenced in area for the dogs. It is large and shaded with a lot of room for the dogs to run. They also have a staff member that, for a small fee will walk your dogs if you want to stay out all day. We also complained that the ground was not very level, this time we saw that most of the sites are concrete pads and more level. The staff is very nice and helpful. The laundry and bath house were very clean and well taken care of. The other nice thing about the place is that it is less then a block from the Mississippi River and you can walk on the levy. The only real negative, and the staff has no control, is the railroad tracks are less then a block from the back of the campgrounds and the trains blow their horns every time they cross a road, and there are a lot of them.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

1. Full hookup
2. Privacy in the campsite
3. In nature
4. A chlorine pool or a good beach
5. Free fast WiFi
6. No bug infestations
7. Nice free bathroom and showers
8. Fun things to do
9. Good Value
10. Pet friendly

1. Yes
2. Nope
3. Nope
4. Nope (closed)
5. Nope
6. Yes
7. Yes
8. Nope
9. Nope
10. Yes

This campground had WiFi, but it was really bad so what's the point of WiFi if it doesn't work? Also they had a pool but it was closed. I gave it an Average instead of Poor because they had free cookies at the office! :D Also the're showers were good, but just a heads up, don't try and have a shower on Friday because it's really packed and I had to wait 20 minutes for a stall. It's right in the middle of town, and nice and close to New Orleans, so it was pretty expensive.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We left Baltimore Maryland 10PM Saturday the 22nd. Traveled through some pretty bad whether getting to the KOA at about 10PM Sunday the 23rd even though they said no one would be there some one greeted us! Considering how tired we both were it was nice to have someone help with the parking! Park was very clean and spaces nice size. Staff was extremely over the top pleasant and helpful. The dog yard was awesome because the fencing was quite large, secure and high enough that we could let our dog run with no fear of him jumping over.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

When we got there in our Rv our black water house was broken and Mike gave us one. They are sticklers about the speed in the park because small children play there. They have gas on site and the bathrooms and laundry are super clear and great water pressure. I didn't see the mini golf I may have just missed it . Went there for new yr nice time

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

This park charges $3 per day extra for 50 amp service which is not disclosed whether reservation is made on website or over the phone As for the park it appears as if around 75 percent of occupied sites are permanent residents. Overall it is an ok park.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans West KOA

Address: 11129 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70123
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans West KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.