We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, comfortable place to park your rig.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Orleans West KOA
Save Saved
You added New Orleans West KOA to your Saves list
11129 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70123   |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Country California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A friendly, comfortable place to park your rig.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading some of the reviews here, we arrived with some apprehension. There wasn't any photos posted from other travelers at this time and there were some not so favorable reviews. We will post pics! The location is a little away from all of the tourist sites...depending on traffic, maybe an average of 30 minutes? Twice that during peak traffic. We needed an affordable and safe place. We had our tow car and gps so that was fine, one of the trade-offs to save some $. The immediate area around the KOA wasn't the greatest but that seems to be the case about half the time anyways with rv parks in large cities doesn't it? Like some others have mentioned, our gps did try to have us make a U-turn but it isn't necessary. The drive into the KOA does have several houses running along one side, so does at first feel as if it isn't an entrance to the location but it is. It's just one of the parts to an unusual set-up at this KOA. The office staff was very friendly and efficient at check-in and a staff member waited patiently while we unhooked our tow car so that they could assist us to and into our site. There are no pull thru sites in this park. The sites held larger rigs than ours and ours is a 40 ft with slide. Emphasis was placed on keeping the walkway cleared that runs in front of all the sites in our row but that was no problem at all since there was adequate room in the parking area provided in front of our rig. The sites are concrete pads and we leveled easily. A picnic table was provided and we had plenty of room to set up our grill and relax. There was a container plant on our site but sadly it had withered and died. Not enough rain they said. We were here for several days, and during that time we did hear a dog bark for a few minutes just down the row from us, and we heard a train twice...they are close and use their horns but not every day that we were there. We occasionally heard jet planes. We noticed all of these noises, but they in no way impacted our stay. This is I believe the first place we have stayed that offered a dog walking service: $5 a walk. Very convenient while off being a tourist in the French Quarter! The laundry room was clean and functional, the pool clean and busy in the evenings, the office/store had some nice unique items (Hurricane Cocktail Mix, Bread Pudding Mix, Beignet Mix!), as well as some of the common touristy souvenirs. The dog park area was another part of the unusual set-up being as it's entrance is between two houses and actually is their backyard. I've included pics. It was clean, welcoming and useful, lol, just as I've said, an unusual set-up. Overall, we felt that this KOA was safe, welcoming, friendly, and genuinely invested in the quality of our stay. This is not a destination resort, rather it's a nice place to come home to. They've offered guests a lot with what they have to work with and we would surely use them again.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same and they'll guide you to and into the one they think will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Old Monroe, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a reservation, but the morning we were to go to New Orleans the NWS had flash flood advisories and was calling for heavy showers for the next 5 days. We called and canceled our reservation expecting to pay the $10 cancellation penalty. This KOA charged us the full amount, approx $50, with no regard for our concerns. Disappointed, especially as we stay a KOA's quite a bit.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This KOA has back on only sights and we were concerned as we much prefer pull through. Our concerns were immediately calmed as the guide calmly and very professionally instructed us how to back in. The staff are very attentive and provided great travel tips and directions. The showers and restrooms are secure and kept quite clean. Great location to explore New Orleans from.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have stayed at this campground before. And it is exceptionally clean with a nice pool and a great bath house that is also very clean. It has a nice general store with basic needs and souvenirs. The owners and the other employees could not be more helpful. This koa has only back in sites but this staff is very helpful to assist you. We will be visiting again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Ahh the serene memories of very, very small campsites, hearing every sound our neighbors made, jets landing, train horns going off over and over, dogs barking, babies crying and beams of street lighting shining into our tent throughout the night. This is not a typical camping experience. It's merely a place to "sleep" if you want to visit NOLA on a budget. Bathrooms were clean, but shower stalls were extremely small. The staff was very friendly and helpful and you can tell they're trying to make the best out of a crappy piece of real estate. Security was solid as well. We felt safe. The price was crappy and they inflated it because there was some festival going on.. Which we weren't there for... So watch out for that. We paid almost $200 for three nights. Oh and there are no fire rings, so bring your own. The picnic tables are also very small, so you may want to bring an extra table. It's a 20 minute drive into the city. Bring earplugs or headphones, a sleeping mask and liquor and you'll be fine here. Best you're gonna get for dirty NOLA. Also... Better reserve your spot on the shuttle weeks in advance because by the time you get there it will be full. (Note: we are a married couple in our 20s, so we tent camp. May be a different experience with an RV)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This park is well off of Interstate 10 and you will need to go to the KOA website to get the best directions on getting there, don’t trust your GPS. All spaces are back-ins and most can accommodate a big rig. Your toad will be parked in front of your rig and you should use it to go to town, pay for parking ($10+), and not worry about the shuttle, bus, or taxi. Each level gravel site comes with a concrete patio pad and picnic table. The road thru the park is paved, in good condition and the grounds are kept looking nice. Pool, laundry and bathrooms were all clean and well maintained. There are enough trees in the park that you should tell the office when booking if you need open sky for your satellite. WIFI worked well. Staff was friendly and very helpful with info about touring the big Easy. Hope you like trains because a track runs next to the park, trains are frequent and the engineer loves to blow the horn!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The staff here are among the most friendly and helpful of any campground I've visited. The location is outside of New Orleans but the park offers a free shuttle service to the French Quarter (leaving at 9:00 am and 5:00 pm; returning at 5:45 pm). Since there is no evening shuttle pick-up, I suggest arranging with another guest to share at taxi back to the RV park. The park is kept spotlessly clean including grounds, restrooms and showers. The showers are very small however. A train line runs behind the RV park; there must be several level crossings in the neighbourhood because the train blows its horn constantly for a minute or two. That said, in the four days we stayed I only heard the train a half dozen times. The shuttle driver also gives a pretty good guided tour along the way.

The sites are back-in with a concrete pad, generally level with grass between sites (the campground is treed but most sites lack shade). The sites are reasonably spaced apart given this is an urban park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans West KOA

Address: 11129 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70123
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty lodging in New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans West KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.