We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Set-Up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Orleans West KOA
Save
You added New Orleans West KOA to your Saves list
11129 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70123   |  
Hotel amenities
Tomball, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Set-Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed at this KOA several times and it is always a great experience. On our last visit in April a few of the pads were being redone so they will be perfectly level.

Staff is friendly and the grounds are kept very clean which is a huge plus in my book!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and already met most of the staff who told us all the latest gossip. Super friendly, very much child friendly Koa to stay, highly recommended. The only problem (which is actually ours) is that the sewer tank is far from water tap, but that's our issue. Swimming pool is cold, welcomed with this super hot weather, bathrooms get a good scrub between 12-14:00 daily. It's close to perfect if not the neighberhood

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place for Rving or camping although not close to French Quarters. Staff was super friendly and helpful with anything and everything! They have shuttles to the French Quarter daily (free) and have taxi service at reasonable rates available. The KOA is very clean. We stayed with our 32 ft trailer for a week and would highly recommend staying at this KOA. This is a dog friendly park but unfortunately no dog park! All dogs MUST be on a leash at all times since animal control drives through. But they do offer a dog walking service for a reasonable fee. Felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This KOA seemed to be in a nit so nice area but once inside not a problem. Very friendly staff and park was clean. We did not use the bath house so I can not comment in that. The sites are all back in sites but are concrete which is nice. The front of all the sites are low so your front end may be jacked high but after a night if rain I see why. There was no dog park and I missed that. It was kind if strange that there were a few houses in this park. We did not take the van to town because we had a car but did see several people do so. Be sure to eat at Charlie's which is in an ugly real building but very good!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great spot with ultra friendly staff. Shady spot next to the pool and rest rooms we were offered - that's right offered. They took us out to have a look and pick the site we would like. Staff came back through to check everything was okay and for a chat. Asked where we were going and suggested a few ideas. Cannot fault at all. Highly recommended.
Facilities are spotless, pool included. Great wifi signal too

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were skeptical about camping in a city like New Orleans. We weren't sure if it'd be clean, safe, or spacious enough to actually camp, but we were super impressed with the New Orleans West KOA! Our campsite was large, under a huge shady tree, and the pool was clean and cool. The whole camp is within a walled area near the airport, so the only disturbances in the night were people in the adjacent neighborhood or a plane or train nearby, but other than that we slept comfortably and felt safe.

Definitely take advantage of the free shuttle to the French Quarter that this KOA provides... not only is it super convenient, but the man/camp co-owner that drives the van doubles as a "tour guide", and it is a ridiculous, informative, and very entertaining little trip. ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlanc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at this campground for two nights. Everyone at the office was friendly and helpful, their rates were pretty decent and it was extremely clean. We were tent camping and our site was very small, with enough room for our tent and that's about it. However, all the tent sites are well shaded by large trees so it stays cool even midday. It was also almost empty the entire time we were there since I think this site is much more popular with RVers. This left the tent camping quiet and uncrowded. They have very clean, hot showers and spotless restrooms. The pool was amazing, warm, not overly chlorinated and also shaded by trees. It is a little far from the main downtown but we didn't really find it that inconvenient. Overall, I would definitely recommend this to other tent campers looking for a place to stay while sight seeing in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orleans West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans West KOA

Address: 11129 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70123
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans West KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.