We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorizing tour that lets you forget about the heat & humidity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends of the Cabildo

Friends of the Cabildo
701 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
504-524-9118
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Friends of the Cabildo Tours are at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m from the 1850 House Museum Store on Historic Jackson Square (523 St. Ann Street). Friends of the Cabildo is a private non-profit 501 (c) 3 corporation founded in New Orleans in 1956. The FOC is a support organization for the Louisiana State Museum's and its departments of collections, education, and exhibit. Friends of the Cabildo also operates the 1850 House Museum Store for the Museum, serving as its official Louisiana State Museum Store.The Friends also provide walking tour guide training classes for licensed tour guides. The month long intense class is one of two classes in the City of New Orleans and its guides are some of the best in the city. Guides volunteer their time to give two tours a day Tuesday-Sunday from the 1850 House Museum Store (523 St. Ann Street) and each guide provides a historical, cultural and architectural view of the city that they learned in the class, but also creates a story of New Orleans that he or she has experienced. Tours leave from the 1850 House Museum Store on Historic Jackson Square at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. everyday but Monday. Note: The tail of Andrew Jackson's Horse in Jackson Square points straight at the store!
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A memorizing tour that lets you forget about the heat & humidity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Walking tours provide a personal view of a city that can’t be gained from a car, bike, or carriage. Finding a good walking tour isn’t easy, but the volunteer guides for the Friends of Cabildo offer two French Quarter Walking Tours a day. My guide was exceptional. His passion to share the history of the French Quarter means he leads multiple tours a week. The best news reservations aren’t required and tickets run $15 each for the two hour walk.

Our group had an added bonus as our group met a fellow guide near the end of our tour and we were given an inside peak of the courtyard area where he lives. This meant our tour ran over two hours in length, but oh, what a wonderful walk it was.

Tours leave from the 1850 House Museum Store at 523 St. Ann Street across from Jackson Square. Bring bottled water – or buy it at the 1850 House Museum Store.

This tour was a great personal way to learn about the French Quarter. My guide was so good that I found that I forgot about the heat and humidity of the city as I discovered what group was the largest ethnic population in NOLA in 1870, the difference between a gallery and a balcony, how citizens learned that Yellow Fever had broken out among residents, etc.

PS Don’t ignore the items in the 1850 House Museum shop. I found several holiday gifts from among the stylish, locally produced jewelry pieces. It’s wonderful to be able to help a worthy nonprofit while finding distinctive gifts for people you love!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your tour and we thank you for your support of the Louisiana State Museum and Friends of the Cabildo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    14
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to an event at The Cabildo. It was a perfect venue to mingle, as well as see the exhibits. They were extremely interesting and presented well. Definitely worth a visit back again when I have more time to see the entire place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your tour and we thank you for your support of the Louisiana State Museum and Friends of the Cabildo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Discovering "The French Quarter".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This tour, for the price, was most interesting. I learned things that I did not know about New Orleans, about Louisiana, and about the South.
Well worth the time and money-particularly since this is a not-for-profit venture!!!! Well done!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your tour and thank you for supporting the FOC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great tour by the best guide in the business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic 4 day weekend in New Orleans. On the second day, we visited the Friends of the Cabildo for a walking tour. Our guide, Nancy Jane, was an incredible ambassador of her lovely city. She asked about our interests and time available, and guided us around to see things not normally on her standard tour. Everyone we met said she was the best in the business, and while that may be a common line for other tour guides, in this case they were correct. She kindly offered us her umbrella when it rained, and continued walking without one. She helped us get to our next destination, even though we had long since gone past the normal tour length. Nancy will be in our stories of New Orleans for many years to come.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Nancy Jane is one of the best tour guides, we are glad you enjoyed your tour and thank you for supporting the FOC and Louisiana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Museum where the Louisiana Purchase was signed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lots of information regarding Louisiana and all very interesting. They offerred me a two for ticket and it was also good for the museum next door. You would need a lot of time to read it all. They go from the native amercans of the area to reconstruction. I really enjoy history so this was great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your tour and thank you for supporting the FOC and LSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of the Cabildo also viewed

 

Been to Friends of the Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends of the Cabildo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.