We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tour with a Heart... A Tour Guide Who Loves What He Does!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original New Orleans Movie Tours

Original New Orleans Movie Tours
801 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers Point)
+1 504-383-8668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 182 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A unique movie experience! Let us give you a city tour of New Orleans while playing video clips from your favorite movies, while we visit the actual filming locations aboard our intimate 10 passenger van! A locally owned and operated tour by Jonathan Ray.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Tour with a Heart... A Tour Guide Who Loves What He Does!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My mother and I took this tour, and we both agreed it was unique and fun. Here's what to expect on the tour:

-- A van equipped with flat screen TVs embedded in the seat backs drives to New Orleans movie locations and plays clips from the relevant movie while stopping to view the location.
-- A tour guide who is passionate about movies and specifically movies made in New Orleans. He also is an actor who plays extras and small roles in movies that film locally.
-- A customizable tour: You can tell the tour guide what kind of movies you like prior to the tour, and he will help pull clips to show and identify locations to visit that suit your tastes.

Some other notable positives:
-- The tour guide provided our tour although we were the only two people on the tour. Most tours would cancel and force you to reschedule.
-- The tour guide dropped us off at our hotel despite it being well out of the way.
-- Popcorn and bottled water are provided.

This is a great tour on all accounts, but the tour guide makes it a five-star tour. He is obviously pursuing his dream by creating an enterprise in which he can share his love for movies and let others benefit from his passion. Plus, you will see locations to movies you have watched (and others you have not), and learn a lot about the movie industry in NOLA!

My recommendation - Definitely take this tour, and let him know ahead of time if you have any special requests for movie genres of interest.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    15
    1
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If you are into Movies, it's a great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As a pure movie tour I believe most would rate this tour excellent. The driver/tour guide/owner did his very best to make it interesting. Movie trivia questions, Popcorn, setting up the Van in just the right spot to first view the scene on the "back of the head rest" video monitors, then looking out at the spot and visualizing the scene being filmed.

We must have been to 30 movie locations around the city. At one point, he re-created a chase scene from the Dukes of Hazard. Starting at the exact spot of the start of the chase, he started the video on the monitors, and attempted to sync the Van to the chase, in real time, even going around a statue in a traffic circle twice. That's when I got car sick ;-(

Not the ultimate sick, but bad enough that I was praying for the tour to end.

I'm not big into movies. So why would you go on a Movie Tour,
well their WEB info indicated this is also a good alternative for a city tour. That it is not.

However, a little bit more commentary of where we were and what historical place we were passing by would have gone a long way in making it more enjoyable for me.

Again, if you are into movies this tour is for you, lots of good inside info, active movie sets, etc...

Joe

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Perfect tour for out-of-town guests and locals alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Jonathan (John?) was an excellent guide - not sure how he does what he does, which is negotiate tight French Quarter and Garden District streets while entertaining questions, starting a movie on your screen (in front of each seat) and thinking of what facts to share. Amazing! The ultimate multi-tasker.

We came back to the CBD the next day for brunch and found ourselves saying, "Remember that scene from The Mechanic they filmed right here??" etc.

We've lived here for several years and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as did our out-of-town guests. Come a little early and shop at the French Market or have a beignet - they meet right in front of Cafe du Monde.

p.s. When it's hot outside (which is often in NOLA), this is also the perfect tour. Nice air-conditioned van!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The New Orleans Movie Tour was WONDERFUL!! Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. We have been to New Orleans before and taken the usual tours (ghost tour, French Quarter, Garden District, etc.), but this was by far our favorite. Jonathan was a fun tour guide, with tons of information about the movie industry and even personal experiences on the films he talked about. The van was comfortable, and we loved driving around the city and seeing the different locations, then watching the movie clips on the screens. It was definitely unique, and since we love movies, it was incredibly interesting for us. We liked that he pointed out where certain stars lived and that we even got to swing by the movie studio and check out some of the prop vehicles in the parking lot there. And the popcorn and water were the perfect snack to go along with everything. We would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who likes movies or even just wants to see different areas of the city outside just the French Quarter. AWESOME!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Changed our view of NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My children wanted to leave NOLA after two hours after getting there from our beautiful hometown of Orlando, but after doing the Original New Orleans Movie Tour they started to see why so many love this town for the history, architecture, people and food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original New Orleans Movie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Original New Orleans Movie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original New Orleans Movie Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.