We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and fun!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original New Orleans Movie Tours

Original New Orleans Movie Tours
801 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers Point)
+1 504-383-8668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 186 Activities in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique movie experience! Let us give you a city tour of New Orleans while playing video clips from your favorite movies, while we visit the actual filming locations aboard our intimate 10 passenger van! A locally owned and operated tour by Jonathan Ray.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Watauga, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique and fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The New Orleans Movie Tour was WONDERFUL!! Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. We have been to New Orleans before and taken the usual tours (ghost tour, French Quarter, Garden District, etc.), but this was by far our favorite. Jonathan was a fun tour guide, with tons of information about the movie industry and even personal experiences on the films he talked about. The van was comfortable, and we loved driving around the city and seeing the different locations, then watching the movie clips on the screens. It was definitely unique, and since we love movies, it was incredibly interesting for us. We liked that he pointed out where certain stars lived and that we even got to swing by the movie studio and check out some of the prop vehicles in the parking lot there. And the popcorn and water were the perfect snack to go along with everything. We would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who likes movies or even just wants to see different areas of the city outside just the French Quarter. AWESOME!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    16
    1
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Changed our view of NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My children wanted to leave NOLA after two hours after getting there from our beautiful hometown of Orlando, but after doing the Original New Orleans Movie Tour they started to see why so many love this town for the history, architecture, people and food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Creative Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Even if you are not a movie lover, which I am, you will thoroughly enjoy the cleverly creative way in which this tour travels through the neighborhoods of New Orleans. Not only do you learn about the film industry in this city, you also learn about the city itself. Watching film clips at the sites where the films were actually filmed was very interesting, especially the simulation of several car chases. Our tour director was very knowledgeable - being able to answer the many questions asked of him. If you are looking for a different way to see New Orleans, then this tour is the way to go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having been to New Orleans many times, I was looking for something unique for my husband and I to do. I found this movie tour listed on trip advisor in the "popular" list for N.O. After walking and looking for the address listed, 801 Decatur, and not finding it, we stopped at 819 Decatur, which was a place to buy tours. The man there called Jonathan to make sure he had room on the 1:00 tour and took our deposit of $40 (cash) and wrote down our cell phone number. He also wrote down what we had paid on a pamphlet of the tour for me to keep. After lunch, we headed over to the tourist shop where Jonathon arrived early to pick us up. We found out that 801 Decatur is the restaurant on the other corner facing Jackson Square across from Cafe Du Monde. That's where he meets the tourists for the tour. And that's where we sat for a few minutes while waiting for another couple to the join tour (there were 7 on the tour). The van is nice and clean and has a monitor in front of every seat. That is where he shows parts of movies as he drives to the actual spot in the city. That is so fun and interesting! He took us all over the city. And, boy, can he manuever around! He had to adjust his route because of all the construction (the city is getting ready for the Super Bowl). He stopped mid-way through the tour at a tourist building on Rampart St., I think. Here we stretched our legs and had the opportunity to go to the restroom. When we got back into the van, Jonathan had provided us all some popcorn and bottled bottle. Not only does he take you to exact locations where movies were filmed, he will take you by any active movie sets. And there's always one in N.O., Hollywood South. This time it happened to be a movie being made with Spike Lee. He drove around and showed us the base camp for the movies and even showed us some homes of famous people. We were very impressed at how well prepared Jonathan was and how much he knew about the movie industry. At the end of the tour, which lasts about 2 hours, we paid him our balance of $38 by credit card and a $10 tip. He gave us a long list of New Orleans movie tour locations. Even though we don't watch alot of movies, we both enjoyed this tour very much and learned alot. Jonathan's great personality and love of what he was doing was an added bonus. If you love movies, this tour is a must!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“If you like movies and are new to NOLA - do it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had taken a movie tour of San Francisco before and really enjoyed it...this one of NOLA was equally fun, informative and gave a good tour of the city through the eyes of the movies filmed here...RAY was great, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about movies...no complaints...if you've ever enjoyed a film and new to the city...this is a fun way to spend a couple of hours...and the popcorn was tasty and hit the spot from a nibble perspective...Enjoy....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original New Orleans Movie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Original New Orleans Movie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original New Orleans Movie Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.