We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegan choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo

Carmo
527 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-875-4132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Brazilian, Caribbean, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great vegan choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My first experience with a vegan meal and it was well worth it. We ordered the specials. Plenty of food for a good price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCarmo, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Tillykeith, Thanks for coming in. We're glad that we were able to serve you your first vegan meal, and that you enjoyed it. Can you tell us what we need to improve upon in order to earn a five star rating from you? We hope you'll visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    58
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting vegetarian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came here for my birthday dinner during a 3 day trip to NOLA. The family was sick of gumbo and alligator. I'm the only vegetarian in the family. The food was GREAT! We ordered nearly the entire menu. The armenian bread with havarti cheese was AMAZING! The salads were interesting. We tasted nearly all of the "wierd fruit" juices and liked them all. My kids tried both meat and soy-meat options and everyone liked their entrees.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Very Good for Niche Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

A small group of us were immediately seated in a quiet section of this small restaurant when we arrived for our 7:30PM reservation on a weekday evening. We found the drink and food menus to be quite innovative, and quite limited. As explained by the waiter "plenty of other New Orleans restaurants can deliver the standard drinks and food - we have focused ourselves differently." We all appreciated that as we tried an eclectic mix drinks, and vegetarian soups and salads inspired from regions around the world. We thought that this restaurant was very good inn their chosen niche.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Vegan's Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We came to Carmo with some expectations, since it's ranked in the top 5 of New Orleans restaurants in "Tripadvisor". We found a simple cafe with great service and some authentic Caribbean food. The specials were exceptional indeed. A Caribbean's soup made mainly from spinach and Kyle. A potato stew with chicken (or chicken substituted) in vegetables sauce. The bread is more like a thick Pizza. We had 2 salads, both made from unique ingredients and sauces. I have been eating salads all my life, but never before tasted Carmo ‘s version of a salad. My salad had rice on top of lettuce with bacon, avocado and sliced almonds. The sauce was a combination of mango and some vinegar.
My entree was Yellowish Tuna Sashimi.
You can change the bacon or any "non veggie" to a soya substitute.
Overall we enjoyed the experience of Caribbean food. I only wish that my vegan daughter would have been here to enjoy this with us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Vegan food, yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Food is always superb and usually a goodly portion. The fresh juice drinks are divine, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. While I think the prices could be a bit lower, they are located in a high rent area of New Orleans. Overall, I recommend this place all the time to strangers and visitors to New Orleans. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCarmo, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
HI SN, Thanks so much for your feedback, we truly appreciate your business and kind words. We're currently looking for ways to source high-quality ingredients more affordably, so I'm hopeful we'll be able to offer a better "bang for the buck" in the future. We look forward to serving you again. Kind regards, Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.