We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo

Carmo
527 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-875-4132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Brazilian, Caribbean, Vegan, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious salads and a lot of different vegan and vegetarian options. I had the broken noodle salad and it was one of the best things I have eaten in a while! Not too expensive either! Definitely will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    115
    41
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great and refreshing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Delicious and healthy food and fresh made juices made this the perfect nutrient boosting recovery lunch after a night of drinking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant is a must if you are vegetarian. It was so hard to find a good vegetarian restaurant in NOLA - so we had to check this place out. The food was so good and fresh. I had a tuna salad sandwich and one of their tropical juices. Everything was delicious and I really like the atmosphere in the restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in nola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Amazing healthy delicious food! Great ambiance, casual and fun. Very reasonsably priced. Loads of vegetarian and vegan options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trumansburg, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lost one star for service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, but after sitting there for a half hour without my food (the special, which is usually something that doesn't take a lot of time) the waitstaff comes out with a plate looking for "Julie". Well, I'm not Julie but I raised my hand, because I thought maybe they got my name wrong. I said my name was Mary but I'd ordered quite a while ago - and people who had ordered after me had finished their dinners... And this woman says she's Julie and probably ate my dinner! Oops!
So here's a suggestion. If you're not going to wait on tables, do like they do at other restaurants and give diners a table marker, a number or a picture on a stand - check out how they do it at Cochon Butcher - so as to ensure the right food gets to the right table. Thanks! Also the food is more than in the $6 - $10 range so probably that should be changed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeCarmo, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We apologize for the mix up on your order. It's something that happens very rarely, but we do feel that addressing people by their names is more dignified than by a number. We hope that you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.