We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo

Carmo
527 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-875-4132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Brazilian, Caribbean, Vegan, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Veggie Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a gem we found in NOLA. Very flavorful food. We went here twice during our 3 day trip. Both time for lunch. Veggie King sandwich is amazing, so fresh. We had Veggie Gumbo one day as special and 2nd day was a veggie soup which was equally good. They have a lot of good options for non-veg people as well.
We also ordered broken noodle sandwich - was a lil sweet for our taste (We love spicy food), however, ingredients were fresh.
I would love to go here again whenever i go back to NOLA

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Art, Food, cool place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We are visiting New Orleans and saw the reviews for this place. Really nice change of pace from the rest of the restaurants. Their menu is focused on healthy options which we like. Husband got the Rico plate and I got a garden salad. Very nicely done. Experience was great!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING BANANA BREAD CAKE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is really great. I got the seafood Gumbo and it was fresh and beautifully cooked. The lace itself has a lovely feel to it with some really good art and the staff are really friendly. For dessert I got the Caribbean banana bread cake, which was divine! I highly recommend this place - it even does gluten free/vegan/veggie options as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great place that accommodates veggie and vegans! Had the veggie rico....OMG! so yummy!! their banana bread is to die for! Great plate presentation and they offer yummy tropical juices. Staff is friendly and location is in arts district of downtown. Loved it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milky Way
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Everything we had was so delicious, first day - broken noodle salad and acaraje, second day - super fresh veggie sandwiches. AMAZING! Places like this are so progressive! I feel they are helping to open people's minds to healthy vegetarian and vegan options.

Try the mango juice!

Lots of cool galleries and shops nearby, check out Dirty Coast for some legit, very cool New Orleans paraphernalia and sweet T-Shirts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.