We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo

Carmo
527 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-875-4132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,613 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Brazilian, Caribbean, Vegan, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You should go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is not a restaurant but a museum: the dishes are a work of art.
Best food in my trip along the United States

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    47
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Healthy vegan options!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful meal at Carmo during our visit. Nice atmosphere, friendly service and tasty food. We had vegetable soup, broken noodle salad and banquette bread (with daiya cheese)...so good!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I'm delighted to know you had a wonderful meal! Thank you for your review, and I hope you get a chance to visit again soon.

All the best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon MA, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Funky veg-friendly restaurant in the Arts District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

First some facts
* you order at the counter
* you take your silverware and water glasses from the counter to your table
* staff bring your food to your table when it is ready
* there are 3 seating areas -- (1) near the counter (2) in an adjoining storefront that has a garage-type door -- it was open on the evening we were there (3) in a back room area near the restrooms

The food
* special of the day was Moroccan soup and mushroom stew. The soup was good, but the stew was quite bland.
* the Carmo salad was good

staff were friendly and helpful. We'll be back to try other dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. While I'm glad you enjoyed the Moroccan soup, I'm sorry you found the mushroom stew bland. We make sure to season our soups and stews throughout each stage of the cooking process so that the flavor is just right. I'll be sure to use your feedback to improve going forward. I'm delighted to hear you plan on coming back, and I look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great food wine and service. Try the brazilian cheese breads and their home made hot sauce.

Can't go wrong eating here. Staff were friendly and helpful. I'll be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks Rachel! I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly and helpful service. Hope to see you again the next time you're craving our Brazilian cheese breads!

Take care,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Primarily all vegetarian, vegan menu but there are options for meat. A little on the pricey side but the food tastes really good. Try the Esmeralda salad - delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your review! We offer a wide range of vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free and meat-based dishes so that everyone can find something delicious to eat. It's nice to know you appreciate it. Hope to see you back again soon!

Take care,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.