We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel good restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmo

Carmo
527 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-875-4132
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,612 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Brazilian, Caribbean, Vegan, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Kensington, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Feel good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our dinner at Carmo offered a refreshing break from more traditional New Orleans cuisine and restaurant experiences on our recent vacation. The food was healthy and delicious -- I had a salmon salad in which the fish tasted super fresh and expertly seasoned. My daughters enjoyed making their drink selections from the exotic juices menu. The atmosphere was casual and relaxed, and the proprietors were so nice that their goodwill was infectious. The experience left us feeling healthy and in good spirits!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Karen,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear our food left you "feeling healthy and in good spirits." Instead of relying on fried Cajun food, we try to set ourselves apart from standard New Orleans restaurants by serving tropical fare that's both delicious and nutritious. I'm glad you and your daughters enjoyed everything. Hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    47
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've written this review three times now, and each time the words fall short. I'm in love with this restaurant. I had a vegan Rico (my friend had the carnivore version), and it was amazing. I also had an Esmerelda salad; can't say enough about it either. So just how good was this place? I was visiting the city of New Orleans, with its hundreds of restaurants, and guess where I went for lunch the very next day? On the 2nd trip, I had a Carmo salad, along with another Rico. I'll be dreaming about this food. Wish I lived a few hundred miles closer. I'll give it 6 out of 5 stars. You gotta try this restaurant, ESPECIALLY if you are vegetarian/vegan. The friend who ordered the pulled pork Rico was equally impressed, so this is a great place for non-veggies as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I love that you're in love with Carmo! Considering there are many great restaurants in New Orleans, I'm honored you dined with us twice during your trip. Thanks again for your enthusiastic support, and I hope you get a chance to visit again soon.

All the best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“If I could eat there every day, I would be a vegan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Delicious !! Everything was very fresh and the people that work there are fantastic. Great cocktails as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks Suzanne! Looking forward to your next meal with us!

Best wishes,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Vegetarian friendly (my wife) and good for carnivores (me). We had a very good lunch at this establishment. My wife had the Veggie King sandwich and I had the Rico sandwich, both of which were fresh and tasty. Staff were friendly and efficient. All in all a great first time visit and true to the reviews!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to know you and your wife thought your lunch was fresh and tasty. We make sure our menu is diverse so that both vegetarians and carnivores can find something delicious to eat. Hope you get a chance to dine with us again soon!

All the best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Finally... vegetables!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

NOLA is known for it's po'boys and deep fried foods... Carmo is an absolute breath of fresh air with its DELICIOUS seafood, veggie, vegan and gluten-free food. Seriously, their food is amazing. My husband loves meat and we split two salads and two entrees and he loved them too. Staff were super friendly and helpful in recommending sights to see and music to catch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi Becca,

Thank you so much for your review. Plenty of restaurants in New Orleans serve fried Cajun food, so I'm happy to know you think our menu is "an absolute breath of fresh air." Which salads and entrees did you try? Any favorites?

All of us here love meeting tourists and pointing them to our favorite sights to see. I'm glad to know you appreciated our warm and friendly service. I hope you had a fantastic trip, and hope to see you back again soon.

All the best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.