We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Restaurant & Oyster Bar

Pearl Restaurant & Oyster Bar
119 St Charles, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 525-2901
Improve this listing
Ranked #671 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Small restaurant with small staff but very friendly and the food was delicious! My hubby said the jambalaya was some of the best he has had and the open face roast beef was so good I ate my whole plate!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Visit and food of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

this was our first stop. staff was very friendly. small place. we had the Jambalaya, and Red Beans and rice. the bring out warm bread to keep you occupied. small bar inside as well. great food/service

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Was missing something, literally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Walked in for lunch, place was pretty empty, the lights were dim, had a very 50's ambiance and I'm quite sure it wasn't on purpose, or maybe it was, who knows? Anyway ordered the Fried Shrimp Po Boi, which was quite good, with a side of very unexciting but adequate French fries. I also ordered a cup of they're seafood gumbo, but it never came. Which was find since I was stuffed and needed room for the mass amount of alcohol I was about to consume on Bourbon St. All in all place was avg, service was fine, prob won't return, but only because I wanna try new places.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Gumbo in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My mom and I had lunch here on our recent trip trip to NOLA. We were a little concerned that it wasn't very busy, but that was definitely not due to the food. This was the best gumbo I had in the city, and trust me a tried a lot. The atmosphere is pretty minimalist, but the food is superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A True GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I go there every time I am in New Orleans. Get a Dixie Beer and a couple dozen and you will be a happy camper.

I love the oysters and the atmosphere. Can't go wrong.

Like a step back in time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Restaurant & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.