We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. John's Steakhouse

Mr. John's Steakhouse
2111 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-679-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. John's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 1,536 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Josephine
Transit: St Charles Avenue Street Car RTA
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Take the trolly and take the time to have some of the best steak you will ever had. All three of the shrimp appetizers were great. And the gluttony red zin was the perfect pairing

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    37
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A wonderful meal from start to finish and a fun ride back on the trolley. The she crab soup was really good as was the petite filet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, NC
Level Contributor
193 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal, Great Atomosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our last meal in NOLA and we were not disappointed. Some of the other reviewers must have had a hangover which caused negativity! We split the bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp appetizer and it was awesome. The French Onion soup was hard to eat but had good flavor. The she-crab soup was well prepared and tasty with lots of crab. We order filet mignon and ribeye steaks which were cooked to perfection. There was nothing negative at all and there was too much food to boot. I highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Hands Down the Best in Town, Reservations Essential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Being from Dallas, we are accustomed to steakhouses on every corner and another one opening up monthly. It becomes difficult to please, much less impress on this grand scale. Our experience at Mr. John's in New Orleans Saturday night was OUTSTANDING in every respect. Service was brisk, efficient, unobtrusive, and congenial. The wine was poured properly and served at the correct temperature. The filet mignon were perfectly cooked, even Pittsburgh style as we requested. I cannot imagine a better experience and will definitely return on future visits to NO. Forget about the Mortons and the Ruths Chris (yes I know Ruth Fertel was from New Orleans). Treat yourself, take the trolley into the garden district, and enjoy one of the best meals in the state.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is great from the steaks to the seafood. The old time steak house where people come to meet, to see and be seen. Great location just outside of the down town area. We love to go there for special occasiouns but the price point is just right for a typical Friday night! Dont forget to make a reservation because they are always busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. John's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mr. John's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. John's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.