We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvain

Sylvain
625 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-265-8123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sylvain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Toulouse and St. Peter
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I had dinner tonight at Sylvain and it was excellent. We had the pan fried pork shoulder and the beef cheeks for entrees and both were excellent. My only thought was that the two Manhattens that we order "up" should have come in a stemware glass and not in an "on the rocks" type glass but the drinks were very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    116
    35
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victor, New York, United States
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“A fantastic first meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the first meal of our recent visit to New Orleans, and it set the bar very high. The specialty cocktails were delicious. The Southern Antipasti was one of the most amazing things I've ever eaten. The entrees (we had the roasted quail and the fish of the day) were delicious. Also, the service was outstanding. We had many questions for our waiter, and he took time to give thoughtful, helpful answers. The only slight downside to the experience was that the air conditioning made the place frigid. Bring a jacket!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Sylvain is not about gumbo, oysters or Po'boys. But it definitely IS about simply excellent food! We knew and/or had heard about all the big names of New Orleans restaurant fame. But we wanted to experience something new this trip. So we started with TripAdvisor and then cross-referenced to Open Table. Sylvain sounded inviting, as well as having gotten some very good reviews. And we scored big! The space is not particularly impressive in and of itself, but the food is beyond description. I think during an entire week of challenging our taste buds, nothing compared to our meals at Sylvain. Naturally, we had to set the stage with Moscow Mules, Manhattans and wines. But several in our group opted for the Sylvain "Dead Man's Wallet" which consisted of Rittenhouse Rye, Ruby Port, lemon and cinnamon syrup. I had a sip and wished I'd started with one also.

The nice thing about going out with a larger group (assuming everyone is compatible and healthy) is being able to sample :-) Over the course of our dinner, I was lucky to be able to try the Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad, Garlic Sausage, Chicken Sandwich, Braised Beef Cheeks, Hangar Steak and the Quail Special which I had ordered. What a dining bonanza! And to forget our dessert course would be unconscionable. The root beer floats, gelatos and "Chocolate Pot De Creme" (aka chocolate custard) were well worth the calories :-) You don't need the big names or big bucks in New Orleans to have fantastic food at Sylvain. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A HIDDEN GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, honest, delicious food in an historic setting which contains one of the oldest free standing walls in NOLA. We ate at all the well known restaurants in NOLA, from Restaurant R'evolution to Herb Saint to Commanders. While all were superb, I went home thinking about Sylvain, wishing we had a restaurant like that in NYC. The food is simple and amazing. The restaurant is located in an old, remodeled carriage house. The staff is friendly and helpful. Next time we're in NOLA, this is our first restaurant stop. i can't wait to sit in the garden. This place is an absolute MUST!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rude, difficult, unaccommodating.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Arriving without a reservation to a 3/4 full restaurant we were told to come back. After returning at our said time for reservations we were told the kitchen closed early and they wouldn't be able to anything. No service and rude staff

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvain also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Sylvain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.