We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in the Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvain

Sylvain
625 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-265-8123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sylvain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Toulouse and St. Peter
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food in the Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Friends of ours recommended Sylvain very highly so we tried it last Saturday night before the downtown St Patrick's Day parade. The ambiance was comfortable inside (too noisy and humid for us in the patio area in back) and the service was very good. Our entres were uneven, however. My hanger steak was very well prepared, and I particularly enjoyed the grilled brussel sprouts, but my partner's beef cheeks were kind of chewy and not very flavorful. But we did find a nice Salice Salentino wine at a very reasonable price, which helped top the meal off. We would certainly return and try other menu items.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    104
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Last year was the first and only time we ate there and we will never go back. Hope they got better. Everything was awful - food, service, etc.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing- A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place was by far the best place we ate in New Orleans. We all have our favorite restaurants in big cities but this one should really be at the top of the list. No, it doesn't have "po'boys" and that kind of Louisiana fare but it is upscale and delicious no matter where you're from. I had the brussel sprouts salad which was great and the scallops which were cooked to perfection. I loved the champagne drink with lavender. The waiter was attentive and nice. You definitely can't plan on eating here without a reservation. We saw someone who knew a waiter and she was turned away (I felt bad). They do have outdoor seating and a really cute courtyard but that was booked too. I made a reservation weeks about 3 weeks in advance and we did have to wait a few minutes but i was fine...we were just waiting for the people at our table to leave. It's a small restaurant. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“French Quarter Hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well, if you are in the main seating area you aren't really hidden away but it's tricky to get in to this charming restaurant. The courtyard is gorgeous but you might not easily get a seat to dine in it. The service is top notch and the food is delicious. It is a bit loud and dark in there so don't plan on a quiet conversation during your meal. With all the fried and fried and oyster in the French Quarter I definitely recommend this restaurant for a delectable "not your typical" French Quarter experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Exception to the usual French Quarter fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recommended by the owners of the B&B where we stayed. French Quarter not usually known for it's cuisine. However Sylvain is certainly the exception to the rule. Excellent meals enjoyed by all in our party. I had the Pan Fried Scallops that were mouth-watering, then satisfying.
Decor is a little dark (bring your pocket flashlight). Menu is somewhat Pricey, but well worth the quality and taste of the food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvain also viewed

 

Been to Sylvain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.