We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Cottages

Save Saved
You added Audubon Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Audubon Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Rates
Southaven, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Treasure in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My recent stay at Audubon Cottages was very good! It is truly a hidden treasure near the Bourbon St. area and when you stay there, you do not feel like you are in New Orleans, or atleast I didn't. It was a nice escape from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon, which is only a few steps away. The private pool at the cottages is ideal for anyone who would like a bit more privacy, although I didn't get to enjoy the pool since it was cool while I was there. There is always a lovely courtyard that is ideal for socializing and relaxing or sitting outside on a lovely day to do some work if you are there on business.

When checking in, you have to go down the street. It's not at the cottages themselves, which was a bit confusing for those who are arriving for the first time, but it all worked out.

The decor was beautiful in our cottage and felt very welcoming and cozy. The linens were very comfortable and I felt like I was sleeping at home in my own bed rather than a hotel bed.

Everything overall was wonderful and I would absolutely return! The only 2 things I was not happy about were: 1. When we checked in it was going to be a bit before they got our bags to our room, so we told them we would go walk around for about 30 minutes or so. When we got to our cottage, we did not have to use our key to get in because the door was unlocked. We were not happy about this because our computers and other personal belongings were in there. 2. Each morning they brought their complimentary breakfast to our room. It was a nice selection and nice to have it brought to us. The day we were checking out, we expected breakfast delivered once again. We had called the night before to tell them what time we wanted it delivered to our room (like we were instructed to do) and that morning, our breakfast never showed up. We had to call to inquire about it and they said our butler was not there so we would have to come down to the main area for breakfast. This was a bit annoying since it was the day we were leaving and out of all days it was going to be more convenient to have our breakfast delivered rather than having to walk down to the office area to get it ourselves. But again, it worked out and the area where the breakfast was had everything set out very nicely!

But other than those 2 things, everything was wonderful and I look forward to returning to Audubon Cottages in the near future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Audubon Cottages at the end of Feb/first weekend in March, and had a wonderful time. The property is magical; step through the unassuming door on Dauphine St and you find yourself in a narrow tree-lined passage leading to a beautiful pool and private, intimate courtyards.

Our cottage (#7) was utterly silent, even being only a block from Bourbon St it was a wonderfully silent retreat from the noise of the city. The room was perfectly clean and well appointed with painted brick and, of course, Audubon prints. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the fridge stocked with sodas and water, and great hot water pressure in the glossy black tiled shower.

The cottage shares it's courtyard with its neighbour, but we couldnt tell if it was occupied at the time (there wasnt a time when we ran into other guests, so it truly felt like we had the property to ourselves.) Gorgeous banana trees shade the entrance to the private courtyard, off the corner of the pool, and stunning red camellias from the next courtyard over hung over the brick wall. The Quarter, of course, is a fantastic and dizzying place, and having our own hidden secret retreat in the center of it all just made an already dreamy experience even better.

The staff were *amazing*... our butler, Stephanie, was wonderful and attentive, and if you're looking for restaurant recommendations, seek Jeffrey out; every single place he recommended was a 100% on-target win, exactly what we were looking for in stunning New Orleans dining (Bayona, just down Dauphine from the cottages, is WONDERFUL. Make sure you go at least once). Housekeeping staff was also wonderful and sweet, checking in a few times during our stay to see if there was anything at all we needed. Even Roderick, the previous butler (who now works for the property management company) stopped by and chatted with us for a bit... and, if anything was clearly obvious, he and ALL of the staff that we met had a clear and visible love for the property.

We will *definitely* be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

When I have stayed here before, the Cottages were connected with the Maison de Ville. Now they are operated by something called the New Orleans Hotel Group. When I have stayed here before I stayed in Cottage #5 or #6. This trip was my first time in Cottage #7. Previously I could not have asked for better service in a secluded, relaxing, private cocoon of restfulness.

That was then... This is now... We arrived on Tuesday, March 19th, departed Saturday, March 23rd. I believe we arrived at the same time as the couple in a previous review who stayed in Cottage #6. There was much drama about those missing keys to their cottage, to the extent that the bellman & the butler would get us 3 or 4 steps down the street with our bags, then be distracted back to the key situation, then off we'd go again, then stop, the start, then stop...

But first, the good... History, beauty, lovely furnishings, historic gorgeous grounds... This place is a hidden jewel in the French Quarter. Like a geode, unassuming & plain on the outside, filled with astonishingly breath-taking crystals on the inside! Recently renovated baths, walk in showers & dual flush toilets (always good to conserve). Frig & ice maker in the room, restocked complimentary beverages each day. Free WiFi. Huge tall ceilings, original exposed brick walls & beams. Just what you think of when you think of a lovingly restored centuries old New Orleans cottage. Plus! An actual OPERATIONAL thermostat on the wall. When you turn it down, miracle of miracles, things get COLDER!!! No room occupancy sensors that return the room to 80°F when you are absent. Plus! Ceiling fans in the room! What a delightful relief.


But alas… this stay at The Cottages also brought many disappointments.

1. Supposed to have a "semi-private walled courtyard with fountain" shared with one other cottage. Shared with 1 other cottage, yes... but... the courtyard also had a "service entrance" and a "storage area" contained within it (unlike Cottages #5 and #6 which share a courtyard but do not contain service entrances & storage areas). The service entrance opened onto the street & was left open almost constantly while maintenance workers trouped back & forth through the courtyard ALL day long. The storage area turned out to be the housekeeping cart storage. By midday the housekeepers had amassed the linen from all 7 cottages contained in 10 or 12 clear plastic laundry bags, all stacked on the ground at one end of the courtyard, along with a couple of housekeeping carts. The housekeepers congregated in the end of the courtyard chattering among themselves or with the construction workers as they traversed the courtyard. The Cottages 'butlers' also came and went through the service entrance taking a path through our courtyard to deliver breakfast to other cottages when they could have used the main entrance and disturbed no one. We had breakfast delivered at 9:00am, but the used dishes and remnants of breakfast were often still on the table in the early afternoon. All this traffic made us feel like an interlopers if we tried to sit in the courtyard, resulting in us not using the area at all. This courtyard is the primary reason for choosing this property in the first place, but when you feel like you are invading the break room for the hotel staff & maintenance department when you attempt to use it, you quickly retreat to the confines of your room and close the door.

2. On previous stays, breakfast was coffee, juice & a basket of FRESH croissants & pastries. This breakfast was a fruit plate, most of which was not quite ripe melon & strawberries plus a banana, some pastries which were of the quality you might purchase at Sam's Club or GFS, and a few of the single serve sizes of Post Cereals. Breaks my heart to say it, but it was the sort of thing you might find on the breakfast bar at Shoney’s. So sad in a town with such a great food culture.

3. Each cottage has a "butler" who is there to, well, be a BUTLER... Purportedly from 7am to 7pm. First day ours left at 5pm. The only request we made was heavy cream for our coffee. There does not exist a kitchen in New Orleans that does not contain a quart of heavy cream, but this girl was flummoxed. To ask the kitchen to pour a little cream into a glass and bring it along was WAY outside the box for her. The best she could do was to say she'd "see what she could do". Seems that what she could do was a repeat of the handful of little plastic containers of half & half, which had comprised the initial offering, which was what prompted my request for the heavy cream, so I'm wondering if she bothered to ask the kitchen for anything that wasn't already sitting on the saran wrap covered tray marked "Cottage 7" in the first place. Finally obtained heavy cream from a wonderful waiter at NOLA who poured me a to-go cup full, put a lid on it and charged us nothing for his trouble.

3. The bed was hard as a rock. Decent (not great) pillows, lovely linen… but hard.

4. We left on a Saturday. Apparently our butler was a M-F girl. On Saturday we planned to enjoy our breakfast, then catch a cab and get to the airport in a leisurely fashion. Since our M-F butler was not there on Saturday morning, and we had not assumed the responsibility of calling the main desk to tell them we still wished breakfast at the same time on Saturday, our Saturday butler decided we didn't want any. As we were leaving the cottage with our bags he came over from where he had been chatting up the housekeepers in the corner of our semi-private courtyard and wondered if we might not like some coffee.

5. Under the heading of just not having a grip on the environment, the bellman thought it would be a good idea for us to take a rickshaw type bicycle-cab to a restaurant 3 miles away on Canal Street, which is a 6 lane divided, very busy street packed with buses, cars and trolleys... Seriously?

6. You can pay $350 to $1000 per night for a stay at the Audubon Cottages, and it ought to be worth it. Has been worth it in the past. Now... not so much. Considering we were deprived of the enjoyment of the courtyard by the presence of dirty dishes, piles of dirty laundry & throngs of service personnel, had only one request of the butler which seemed to go unaddressed, could have, and did, in fact obtain fresher pastries at the corner grocery, it certainly was not worth what we paid. We would have been much better off with room service at the Omni Royal.

7. One last thing... Not that we could have ever occupied the courtyard to enjoy it, but the fountain didn't work. I'm not sayin'.... I'm just sayin'... And that's all I'm sayin'...

Room Tip: Cottages #1 and #7 share a courtyard as I described above, with a heavily used service entrance onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow! Walk through the door on Dauphine St. In the French Quarter, and you enter a tranquil garden and courtyard with unexpected beauty. The historic cottages are fabulous; the butler service is superb. A true "Fantasy Island" just footsteps away from the French Quarter, yet so quiet and peaceful.
Enhancing the ambiance of Audubon, a House Finch sang for us each morning outside our cottage. Don't miss this experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived on Tuesday afternoon for check in at the Dauphine Hotel per the instructions. The hotel staff was nice but seemed to be busy and not 100% attentive. Not much information was given about the amenities. The key couldn't be found to our particular cottage so we were escorted to our room by our butler who gave us an overview of the room and a promise for a key. After a wait and a few phones calls, our key arrived. We stayed in cottage 6 it is beautiful, which consists of a large bedroom with a good size bathroom. I adored the high ceilings, shuttered doors, and exposed brick wall. The room had a small fridge that was stocked with sodas and water, good added bonus that was restocked daily. Both the room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. Outside, there is a shared courtyard, which has a fountain and small seating area. The courtyard for all the cottages with the pool is very lovely. The location is ideal for exploring the French Quarter. Extremely quiet for only a block away from Bourbon Street. Our only other issue was ordering the continental breakfast for our room one morning. By the time it arrived, we had to leave for spa appointments. We ordered early that morning so it could have been that we did it at the wrong time. Check out was a breeze. I loved this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! I have already told many of my friends!
I am HAPPY to recommend the cottages to everyone!! I have stayed in all types of hotels, etc. all over the world--from the Ritz in Paris to B&B's in Turkey--your cottage was wonderful!
I liked the mix of antiques with the very modern baths. We especially enjoyed drinking wine in our private courtyard at dusk--listening to jazz being played somewhere in the quarter! The service was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Love, Love this very elegant private quiet cottage! Our butler Jeff Friedland set up the VIP Historical tour for us. He gave us wonderful suggestions of where to dine since this was my first time in this city, not sure where to start. Definitely ask for Jeff to be your butler and of course our very sweet housekeeper lanette made us feel like family. I don't want to say too much because after all it is the best kept secret,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Address: 509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Audubon Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.