We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Cottages

Save Saved
You added Audubon Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Audubon Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Rates
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wow! Walk through the door on Dauphine St. In the French Quarter, and you enter a tranquil garden and courtyard with unexpected beauty. The historic cottages are fabulous; the butler service is superb. A true "Fantasy Island" just footsteps away from the French Quarter, yet so quiet and peaceful.
Enhancing the ambiance of Audubon, a House Finch sang for us each morning outside our cottage. Don't miss this experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived on Tuesday afternoon for check in at the Dauphine Hotel per the instructions. The hotel staff was nice but seemed to be busy and not 100% attentive. Not much information was given about the amenities. The key couldn't be found to our particular cottage so we were escorted to our room by our butler who gave us an overview of the room and a promise for a key. After a wait and a few phones calls, our key arrived. We stayed in cottage 6 it is beautiful, which consists of a large bedroom with a good size bathroom. I adored the high ceilings, shuttered doors, and exposed brick wall. The room had a small fridge that was stocked with sodas and water, good added bonus that was restocked daily. Both the room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. Outside, there is a shared courtyard, which has a fountain and small seating area. The courtyard for all the cottages with the pool is very lovely. The location is ideal for exploring the French Quarter. Extremely quiet for only a block away from Bourbon Street. Our only other issue was ordering the continental breakfast for our room one morning. By the time it arrived, we had to leave for spa appointments. We ordered early that morning so it could have been that we did it at the wrong time. Check out was a breeze. I loved this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful surprise! I have already told many of my friends!
I am HAPPY to recommend the cottages to everyone!! I have stayed in all types of hotels, etc. all over the world--from the Ritz in Paris to B&B's in Turkey--your cottage was wonderful!
I liked the mix of antiques with the very modern baths. We especially enjoyed drinking wine in our private courtyard at dusk--listening to jazz being played somewhere in the quarter! The service was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Love, Love this very elegant private quiet cottage! Our butler Jeff Friedland set up the VIP Historical tour for us. He gave us wonderful suggestions of where to dine since this was my first time in this city, not sure where to start. Definitely ask for Jeff to be your butler and of course our very sweet housekeeper lanette made us feel like family. I don't want to say too much because after all it is the best kept secret,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the rustic yet modern accommodations to the delectable breakfast served in-room by the personal butler service, Audubon Cottages exceeded all of my family's expectations. The prime location enabled us to valet our vehicle for the duration of our stay and walk to all of our destinations. I can’t think of another place in The French Quarter that offers the privacy of the Audubon Cottages’ courtyards while being just steps away from the action and attractions that the Big Easy is known for. If you are considering a stay in New Orleans, this luxurious oasis is sure to impress.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the seven cottages. I really loved the balcony of Cottage Four th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

With the frenetic energy of the French Quarter, Audubon Cottages are your own private heaven. Had an amazing stay with a great staff including our butlers Jeff and Jennifer. Due to a storm in the Northeast - we "unfortunately" had to stay an extra 2 nights - and management couldn't be more accommodating. Would definitely visit again. Thanks to all for a great stay!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

New Orleans is decidedly one of the funkiest, liveliest, and loveliest places we've ever encountered. Because our magazine's purview is the South--its literature, culture, music, and art--New Orleans serves as an important touchstone, and we're there often. The Quarter has been home to a bohemian artistic community for nearly a century, though it also boasts plenty of high-end businesses and institutions, as well as the abrasively over stimulating tourists traps on Bourbon Street.

The Quarter contains international chain hotels, condo timeshares, and local hotels and B&Bs, but nothing compares to the Audubon Cottages. Tucked away amidst the rollicking and bustle of the Quarter, the cottages allow you to reset and relax (if you wish) in a beautifully secluded area just a stone's throw away from the action. It's honestly eerie how you'll feel transported miles away from the Quarter--how does it suddenly smell nice? where's all the noise? the people?

Besides the fantastic location, the accommodations are fantastic in general. The rooms are charming and the history's intoxicating (Elizabeth Taylor frequented our cottage; Tennessee Williams stayed in the hotel and undoubtedly penned parts of A Streetcar Named Desire there). There's a heated pool that allowed us to take a dip in December (granted, it's New Orleans, so the outside temperature hovered around the 70s).

—The Oxford American crew

Room Tip: Ask for Jeffrey and Roderick…who took such good care of us and made us feel like we were “coming hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Address: 509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Audubon Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.