We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Cottages

Save Saved
You added Audubon Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Audubon Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Best Rates
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort and Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here while at conference in New Orleans and was bowled over by the quality of the service and the beauty of the cottages. Roderick and Jeffery, the butlers were courteous, attentive (but not too much so), and just a pleasure. The cottage itself was just amazingly beautiful--big comfy bed, fabulous, cozy yet stylish decor steeped in New Orleans history. It just doesn't get much better than these cottages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

New York, NY
They have done a great job renovating this property. Myself and my husband went for 3 nights over Thanksgiving. Central location just off the French Quarter makes it easy to access everything. We had a room for tow, king bed. Room was beautiful, little shared courtyard outside the door where breakfast was left every morning. the room had everything that you need. The property has a lovely heated pool in the center and some lounge chairs around it. Nice and private and quiet (you can hear some noise at night from the street but nothing notable)
Roderick Bernal is the Frenh Quarter butler and he is clearly doing a great job managing the property. kindly introduced himself, opened some cava for us while we lounged by the pool on our last afternoon and arranged our taxi which was right on time. Highly recommend the Audubon Cottages for a calm, private, relaxing, romantic stay and a welcome break from the sightseeing the food trips that we took each day :)

Room Tip: Room #4 - highly recommend that room. its off the street, shared courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My recent trip to New Orleans would not have been as magical were it not for the accommodations at Audubon Cottages. It was a quiet oasis in middle of all the action NO has to offer - quiet retreat only steps from the party. The service was impeccable and the staff was kind and generous. Breakfast in the courtyard was a heavenly way to start every day. Thank you for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My cultural organization recently hosted an out-of-town VIP at the Cottages - with an interest to develop long-term relationships between our efforts and those of other organizations in other cities. The Cottages help us demonstrate the depth and breadth of the New Orleans experience, where vibrant grassroots culture intersects with relaxed and easy elegance. We found that with every aspect of their accommodations, amenities, and service, the Cottages achieve that relaxed and easy elegance, and embody the phrase "genuinely gracious hospitality". Well deserved hat tip - the Cottages are absolutely top shelf.
Damon R.

Room Tip: Every cottage has its own charms, and the private courtyards are ideal settings for relaxed casual c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Audubon Cottages have the Old World Charm of the French Quarter and all the amenities you expect with luxury accommodations. This is the perfect place to escape and relax and forget about the world outside. I had a great time visiting and I can't wait to show it to our clients looking for that "special place to stay".

Jan Allen, CMP
Sales and Marketing Director
New Orleans Convention Company Inc.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The setting alone offers all the magic a guest could ask for. Lush tropical gardens, exquisitely decorated suites each with their own private courtyard, serve as veritable sanctuaries, just 2 blocks from Bourbon Street.


Another plush perk of this property included a personal butler, "Roderick Bernal" who oversaw every detail during our stay...his Endless Privileges philosophy made our stay in this luxurious hideaway a memorable experience to cherish.

It's the ideal location for a destination wedding or just a romantic getaway for the weekend.

We are looking forward to a return trip soon!


Christine Breaux
Publisher
Wedding Style Magazine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We could not have been in a better place! Audobon Cottages is the place to be if you want to be lodged in the French Quarter..... What a pretty place, so well redone, cozy, in the heart of the French Quarter, yet so quietfully..! Roderick was awesome, permanently taking care of us, he is a good asset for the hotel! We were pampered...from the moment you are awake, your delicious breakfast is waiting for you in the private courtyard and the only "noice" is the great fountain in our patio...! Very confortable bedrooms, great decor of the cottages, excelent wifi, a very important in these days...! Beautiful and well kept gardens, thanks to the wonderful and nice gardener that we met. We are looking forward to our next visit.....!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Address: 509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Audubon Cottages 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.