We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True charm of New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audubon Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Audubon Cottages to your Saves list
Audubon Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“True charm of New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I travel often and prefer historic hotels as they reflect the true ambiance of the city. A stay at Audubon Cottages is like stepping back to the mid 19th century when it was built. The owner was meticulous in the recent restoration, preserving original beams, floors, brick walls and brick patios. And the traditions of the plantation life continue with your own personal butler, Roderick. He attends to your every need including a romantic breakfast in your own private courtyard surrounded by tropical gardens. It's a New Orleans brand of Breakfast at Tiffany's, listening to the soothing trickle of the water garden, I could almost imagine John J. Audubon joining me for a cup of tea.

Room Tip: Larger families may want to reserve cottage 1 with two bedrooms and cottage 7 with one bedroom. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Audubon cottages have always been our first choice for accomodations in New Orleans because of the comfort, atmosphere and privacy they provide. Since our last visit in July 2011, the property has changed ownership, resulting in huge improvements. Every cottage and private courtyard has received a major facelift: complete renovation of bathrooms, new paint, updated furniture and AC units, new "drawer" refrigerator and ice makers, beautifully manicured gardens and a refinished pool. All changes have been done in a way that provides modern comfort while preserving the history of these famous New Orleans cottages. Roderick Bernal, the new manager, and his assistant, Michael, provide first class service with attention to every detail. We look forward our next visit.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in cottage #2, but after viewing all accomaodations, we would be happy to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I'm a frequent visitor to New Orleans (20+ times), and this was by far the best accommodations I have ever had there. The Audubon Cottages were private, luxurious, and comfortable. The manager, Roderick, and all of the staff were receptive to every possible need that me and my wife had. They were welcoming, courteous, and still professional. We have a new favorite to stay in in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Audubon Cottages. Shared a two bedroom cottage with a private courtyard. This was a business trip.... oh but I wish my husband was with me to enjoy it! Absolutely gorgeous and private. If you're a discerning traveler and want a truly New Orleans experience this is definitely the place to be. Roderick our wonderful butler took great care of us. Very attentive and professional. Location was perfect, couldn't wait to get back to my room after a busy day of meetings. Loved it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed in Cottage #2 for a long weekend getaway, and I can't say enough positive things about Audubon Cottages. When you enter the property from the street, it's like stepping into a personal sanctuary...much more like a private residence than a hotel. The grounds are beautiful, and very well maintained. Our cottage had a large parlor and two bedrooms, which made this perfect for sharing with another couple in our family. It was the perfect arrangement -- private, yet still sociable! The decor was very nice, as were the amenities: Keurig coffee maker, mini Sub-z fridge/freezer combo, free WiFi, and in-room iPod docks for charging/playing.

The bed was comfy, and the bathroom was AMAZING: his and her sinks, huge walk-in shower, and a very relaxing jetted tub that was perfect at the end of a long day of sight-seeing. If you like luxurious touches during your vacations, this is the place! Our private courtyard was nice for relaxing, and it really made for a quiet/peaceful getaway. Each morning, Roderick -- the property's butler -- brought us fresh fruit, pastries, juice, coffee, and yogurt. So...the first thing we saw each morning when we woke up was this wonderful spread in the courtyard.

Speaking of Roderick? He's fabulous and went out of his way to make our stay extra-special. When it rained, he had umbrellas ready for us to use. When we had questions, he had immediate answers. He was never intrusive, but always seemed to know when we might have a question for him. He is so friendly and helpful...make sure to tell him all of us at The Weekend Gourmet say hello when you see him!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are decorated a bit differently, but all are lovely. If you like jetted spa tubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have to admit, having lived in Baton Rouge for several years and knowing New Orleans fairly well, I wasn't sure what to expect from this property. One block down from Bourbon Street, parallel with Dauphine, I expressed concern to my boyfriend and my best friend (who was meeting us there) that this might be too in-the-thick of the Bourbon street madness. Boy was I wrong!

To enter the courtyard at Audubon is to enter another world, one that seems quite far away from the craziness taking place on Bourbon. Serene. Relaxing. Upscale by any measure. This resort was a little slice of heaven.

The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. The pool small, but refreshing and pleasingly intimate. But HANDS DOWN this place is DEFINED by its level of service, which is excellent. Roderick, the resort's butler, would have drained the pool if you asked him to, he was THAT attentive. And, more than that, he really made the cottages feel at home for us. There was a level of laid-back trust that was really remarkable. We felt as if we were staying with old friends, which is a quality you can't market, only experience.

After our long weekend concluded I swore I would write a glowing TripAdvisor review, as I really felt customers should know just how wonderful Roderick -- and the whole staff really -- was at the cottages. Took us a little while to write this, but we hope that just tells you how we felt about our stay. Just how pleasant it was stayed with us, like a memory spent with those who wish you hadn't left. Bravo.

Room Tip: All rooms were great. Some had their own patio areas. If privacy is a concern, ask for one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have been fans of the Audubon Cottages for a decade. We have seen the good times and the struggles. We were so delighted to hear of the renovation and wanted to see it. We were so pleased with all they have done... It totally exceeded our expectations. Our cottage was beautiful and we were able to view the other cottages, as well, and all were fabulous!! The pool has been upgraded, the landscaping gorgeous, and the service delightful. Our French quarter butler, Roderick Bernel and his staff were so attentive and all our needs were met with such professionalism and warmth. All things considered, we would not change anything about our stay and we look forward to the next time spent at the place we feel stands alone as a French quarter destination! Highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful but 2 and 4 were special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Address: 509 Dauphine St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Audubon Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audubon Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.