We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop for breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ruby Slipper Cafe

The Ruby Slipper Cafe
200 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2423
504-525-9355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Hamburgers, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A neighborhood cafe specializing in Breakfast, Lunch & Brunch. Breakfast served all day, every day! Conveniently located in the Central Business District, one block from the Canal Streetcar line, and just steps to the French Quarter and Warehouse District.
Lott, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must stop for breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast the way it should be. The food is excellent. Friendly service. Just a neay little cafe. What else can I say. If breakfast is your favorite meal of the day. Than this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    243
    56
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to eat breakfast and bunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed The Ruby Slipper! The food was tasty and delicious. This is a nice place for families to sit down, relax and eat a good meal! We visited twice during our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived around 9:30 on Sunday for brunch, there was a 30 minute wait but am I ever glad we waited! I had the Eggs Blackstone and my wife the BBQ Shrimp Grits. Both items are on their signature dish list and both were WONDERFUL! The price to portion ratio is very reasonable, the service was good, and we can not wait to make a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food,Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had the create your own omelet, was very tasty. My daughter had the same, but it was missing the mushrooms she ordered. The server was nice,took them off the check. We did have a long wait for a table but we didn't mind,it was a Saturday in NOLA! Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We went for about a 10:00 breakfast. We had to wait 5 mins to get a table. It seems like it is very busy. It was quite noisy in there with all of the people. My wife and I both got omelettes. They were both very good and the potatoes were excellent. I got just plain old toast and my wife's biscuit was just ok. The food came out very fast and our waitress was very nice

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruby Slipper Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Ruby Slipper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ruby Slipper Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.