We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Gravy

Red Gravy
125 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-561-8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Gravy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pasta, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Canal
Transit: St. Charles Streetcar 2 blocks. Canal St Streetcar on Corner. Riverfront Streetcar 3 blocks
Description: Bright and cheereful spot at the edge of the CBD, just across from the French Quarter. Red Gravy is a dedicated Farm to Table restaurant, sourcing most of our ingredients from local farmers, fishers and bakers. Specializing in traditional and rustic Italian cusisine, including our handmade pasta. Please join us for our lively brunch, served Wednesday through Monday, or candlelit dinner Thursday through Saturday. Come and eat, I always make too much!
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I will go again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful place. Staff makes you feel like home. Mearballs/gravy bread==What else could you want? On Canal St down from the La Quinta. The owner is delightful. Even brought me some Xmas cake on the house!!! No liquor license/not open some nights!!! Luv it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    221
    80
    32
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had heard so many wonderful things about the home cooking in this place from the NOLA forum, that we just had to try it. That the owner is a nice little Italian girl originally from Jersey was a plus (we live right outside NYC).

It's a small place that sits on Camp street right off of Canal in the CBD an easy walk from the FQ or you can take the Riverwalk Street Car and walk up Canal a few blocks to Camp. It's not fancy but very down home and cheerful. Every thing we had was delicious. Jill our server (both times we went) was friendly, attentive and very helpful.

For breakfast DH had Pecan Waffles w/pralenes (sp) and I had the Polpetta Omelet (meatballs & ricotta w/Red Gravy/Sauce). Everything was delish. And that's saying a lot from this 1/2 Italian girl who loves her own home made meatballs and sauce (and rarely orders them out).

For dinner (served 5pm - 9pm on Thur/Fri) DH had the Sausage and Shrimp over Polenta and I had the Ossco Busco over Rosoto. Both were so good we could not stop eating even when we were full enough to explode.

We would definately go back here again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Home-Made Meatballs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went as a family and our toddler and my husband loved the meatballs! Excellent value and very close to hotel. Only open breakfast/lunch daily and highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“So glad we ate here on this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I tried to eat at Red Gravy on our last visit and it didn't work out. This trip we were able to eat here and were so glad we did.
They have made changes since my last visit and you are now seated when you walk in. There are also more tables and it was clear that these have been good changes. We got there around 11 and didn't have to wait and were seated right away.
Our server was great. We ordered the chicken and waffles and she wasn't sure if there was any chicken left but there was! Also had the cannoli pancakes which were to die for. Everything we had was great. The chicken and waffles were exceptional. Only wish we would have been hungrier so we could have tried more!
Was hoping to say Hello to the owner but it was getting busy by the time we were ready to leave and I didn't want to bother her since it was clear they were busy but next time will hopefully get to let her know in person how much we enjoyed the food. I know from here and others that she truly cares about the food and about the customers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Came upon this little restaurant because it was close to the hotel. As soon as you walk in the door, the atmosphere absorbs you. We went around Christmastime, so it was decorated and absolutely beautiful. The food was excellent, the staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend this wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Gravy also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Red Gravy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Gravy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.