We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of New Orleans in one venue!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Muses

Three Muses
536 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 252-4801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Jazz Club, Tapas Bar & Cocktail Bar all rolled into one location. No reservations. First come, first served. Remember we are a Tapas bar, not a full service restaurant.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best of New Orleans in one venue!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We visited Three Muses during Jazz Fest and it was our best dining experience in New Orleans. The place is authentic, staff are friendly and inviting and very pleased to help with descriptions of the food and local beer and cocktails. The food is tapas in style and absolutely wonderful, went beyond our expectations. The whole experience was enhanced by the fabulously talented live jazz musicians. By the way, the toilets were the cleanest of all bars/restaurants we visited!
If you visit NO, you will have missed the best food and jazz experience if you do not try Three Muses!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    159
    32
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Jct. New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Score”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

New Orleans is not short on good food, but it's not often a place has the best music, best food and great bar scene all in one! It was a perfect mix of people, food and music, plus the staff is just wonderful. Treat yourself to the Gulf Fish Tacos!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“This is what you come to New Orleans for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good food, good music, good fellowship, good ambience, just lots of fun. The service was excellent, the portions are not gigantic, but satisfactory. We had a late dinner; I had the steak and it was excellent. After we finished eating and listening to the jazz trio in the restaurant, we went outside and a local jazz band was playing in the street. What an evening! More enjoyable than in the French Quarter.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and service was off the charts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited Three Muses the Thursday before Jazz Fest, and it was an amazing experience! We ate at the bar, and had amazing drinks as well. The bartenders here are impeccable and are true artists. The food was super tasty and the service was spot on. Well done, Three Muses! Oh, I should mention that there was a super talented pianist there entertaining us all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“These guys have it wired”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

These guys just don't seem to miss a beat. This was our favorite place last year and it was again this year. We went to see Glenn David Andrews, but the restaurant is really a treat. By far better food than what we got the Boucherie (?) uptown. One of the suposedly 'large' dishes was small, but it was at the end of the night and I think they were running out of food.

Glenn David Andrews is not to be missed. He plays here or at the dba another of his favorite haunts on a regular basis.

If you like the Frenchmen Street atmosphere, visit the even more hip (and slightly more risky) clubs at St. Claude and Marginy streets. (pronounced "MARE in nee" streets. Walking distance, but I wouldn't.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Muses also viewed

 

Been to Three Muses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Muses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.