We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Muses

Three Muses
536 Frenchmen Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 252-4801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Jazz Club, Tapas Bar & Cocktail Bar all rolled into one location. No reservations. First come, first served. Remember we are a Tapas bar, not a full service restaurant.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food is tapas-style, small plates, and very good. There is live jazz entertainment. The restaurant is on Frenchmen St., a bit mellowed than Bourbon St.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    159
    32
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time outside the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

As everyone says Frenchmen St seems to be where more locals hang out in New Orleans. We had a great time at Three Muses this last Saturday night. We arrived around 645 and the doorman was friendly took our name and told us to come back in half an hour. We went to Snug harbor for a drink - which was very disappointing - the bartender was extremely rude.

When we arrived back at Three Muses our table was ready right away. It was just me and my husband and we got a table right up front. The system was explained to us (order at bar etc) and it worked fine, happy with the service. Drinks were great, food was a nice relief from the predictable creole/Cajun fried stuff we saw everywhere else. Unlike other reviews we did not feel hurried out at all. The music was great and a super vibe. Our best night out in New Orleans I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little bit of Spain in New Orleans.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having read about Three Muses on the website along with the fact that Frenchman Street was where the locals hang out we decided to pay them a visit. It was fairly early in the evening about 5.30 pm when we arrived without a reservation. A lady was on the door and let us in when we said that we wanted to eat there. A few side tables were allowed for drinkers only. We were given a table along with menus and were informed that when we were ready to order to place the order at the bar with the barman. i.e. drinks and food. Basically this is a self service restaurant until much later when it gets very busy and movement is difficult. This appears to be when the staff do attempt to serve. The menu is Tapas (small shared meals) based, brief but extremely varied and interesting. We ordered our drinks from the bar and then I ordered the Meat and Cheese Platter (olives, jamon, salami, cheese, etc.) the shrimp grilled I think with a delicious sauce, the pork bellies wow, mac n cheese not so hot and the fish tacos very good. The total with a couple of drinks for three excluding gratuities (self service) came to $82. By six o'clock the small place was filled to bursting, a lot of locals. We were entertained by an excellent group of four musicians which only added to the enjoyment of the evening - donations accepted at the end of their set. Very enjoyable!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went here on a recommendation and boy were we pleased. We sat at the bar and listened to music from the band playing inside. The food was quite good and the bartenders were really nice.

A top spot in New Orleans.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food for "bar grazing"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

After reading some reviews, we decided to go to this place for a "bar" dinner on a Thursday at 5:30pm, because I had heard it's small and there can be a wait. We were seated immediately, and staff was helpful in explaining how the place worked. They seat you and tell you your table number in order for your food to be delivered to your table after you order it at the bar. Because it's so small, they regulate at the door how many people can enter...even if they're not eating. This is great because it's never hard to get a bartender. We ordered two items off the starter section of the menu and a couple drinks. The tempura shrimp in mustard sauce was so amazing. Meat and cheese platter also excellent. About 45 minutes later we ordered two more things off the menu, Mac and cheese and crawfish enchilada...both excellent. The plates are small, but I like that. You can try many things without a big commitment...bar grazing. Four plates of food, four drinks, $80. I think that's pretty great. Music was nice, patrons nice, staff nice. Highly recommended, but go early, eat, then venture down Frenchman to d.b.a., our favorite bar in the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Muses also viewed

 

Been to Three Muses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Muses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.