We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tour Treme'

Tour Treme'
718 N. Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
+1 504-666-8300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 205 Activities in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can see Treme' from a car or a bus, but you can ONLY Experience It and Feel It, on a Walking Tour with us! Treme' is one of the oldest and most Historic neighborhoods in the United States. Originally settled by Creoles and Free Persons of Color, join us for an unforgettable experience. Hear tales of how our jazz greats were inspired. Visit St. Augustine Church and the Tomb of the Unknown Slave. Find out how residents of the Treme' were active in the Civil Rights movement a century ahead of the rest of the nation. Informative, Exciting, Moving! The Treme' is a living , breathing, joyful piece of History! Tours begin at 10am Daily. Reservations are Required. Your Guide is a Local Historian, a Master Storyteller and fully licensed by the City of New Orleans.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Emily did a fantastic job on the Treme tour. She is extremely knowledgeable and very entertaining as well. If you want to see a part of New Orleans that represents the true culture of the city, this is the tour to take.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    12
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, lots of information.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My tour guide Luke was great, he was informative and you could really tell that he loved his job!!! I would recommend this tour to everyone. It takes about two hours but you will forget about time as you walk through Treme.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Our family took the Treme tour with Hope as our guide. She is very knowledgeable and made our time there very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Luke "Skywalker" Sidell took us through Treme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This guy knows his chops. He's a classically trained musician and jazz aficionado that talks rock and roll too. We visited a laundromat that used to be a recording studio, stopped for a beverage at Treme Cafe, heard about how slavery was different in NO, saw the house where DJ Davis from the Treme HBO show lives, learned about gentrification in NO after Katrina....and more. Not to be missed. We returned to the neighborhood on Sunday to attend the Gospel Catholic service that Luke told us about at St. Augustine Church.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Job Emily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

While clelebrating Diva Weekend in New Orleans, I was extremly impressed with the Treme' tour. I must admit I truly wasn't all that intrested in going on a walking tour but the tour guide Emily changed all of that. Emily's high energy, passion for what she does and awesome personality truly grabbed me from the begining and held me until the end! I'm very happy I went on this tour.I learned so much about the history of music and the neighborhood. Now I'm ordering all of the episodes of the show so I can actually continue with new love for Treme' Thanks Emily!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Treme' also viewed

 

Been to Tour Treme'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tour Treme', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.