We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique one of kind Market ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Market

French Market
Decatur St, 1100 North Peters, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
504 522 2621
Website
Improve this listing
Visit French Market like an insider
Special Offer
$38*
and up
New Orleans Bike Tour
Ranked #82 of 462 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
Pearl, MS
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unique one of kind Market ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great place to find one of kind items in the heart of New Orleans French Quarter. Definitely worth your time if you are visiting NOLA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    272
    156
    41
    13
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved Anatolian Silver!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friends and I bought several pairs of sterling silver earrings from Anatolian Silver in the French Market. Hasan Cicek was very helpful and very nice. Hasan has a large inventory and was very willing to help me with my particular requests. He gave us a good discount. Even without the discount, his prices are very good. My friends and I highly recommend Anatolian Silver to anyone looking for a great jewelry buying experience: large selection, customer friendly attitude, and very good prices for sterling silver pieces. Thanks Hasan! I'll be back on my next visit to NOLA.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun shopping with good prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a great place to pick items from your New Orleans trip at good prices. There were many "local" artists which make a lot of items "one-of-a-kind" and a great way to support those vendors. I will absolutely go back when in town again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go and see Oscar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We loved walking around the French Market and the attached flea market. There were many of the same souveniers that we had seen elsewhere but most items were a bit less expensive here. We loved the unique jewelry hand crafted by Oscar in the French Market. He fuses colorful plastic to make unique pins and earrings. They are very reasonably priced and it was a delight to find something that is actually made in New Orleans, and not in China.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great place to shop if you like mass produced items... except one!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The French Market is in a great location and is huge and filled with merchants selling stuff. Great idea! But the only downside is that everyone is selling the same mass produced items. Mass produced t-shirts, purses, hats, jewelry. Everything is mass produced by a handful of companies and these poor merchants work themselves into a frenzy trying to sell them. Walk ten feet and a different merchant is selling the same product as the one before.

BUT I did find one person. One lady. Sitting at this small table amongst the huge cubicles of mass produced "stuff". And she was selling something unique. All her own. Made by her hands. And it was photographs taken by her of different historical and/or beautiful locations in New Orleans. And those photos where embedded on different size tiles. And her name was Saja. An elderly woman, who just by chance had picked up a camera and kind of fell into this hobby. Well, her hobby is gorgeous. So gorgeous I had to buy some for myself and for souvenirs. So if you find yourself at the French Market, look for the elderly lady sitting at a tiny table. Her name is Saja and her company's name is Saja's New Orleans Photography. Sadly she doesn't have a website, so when you're there, treat yourself to a handful of her unique tiles. You will be one of a few who owns them.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.