We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of French Market

French Market
Decatur St, 1100 North Peters, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
504 522 2621
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 123 Shopping in New Orleans
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I did manage to find a Fleur di lis ring I liked, otherwise the stuff was the same as everyother flea market. Lots of booths, crowded, hard to get through and keep up with your party. Gator jerky too expensive, but there are some nice candy shops right outside the market.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    226
    120
    34
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opp, Alabama
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“If you're not exactly sure what it is you need or want...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

You'll likely figure it out here. What a shopping blast! Amazing! Truly something for everyone. If you're pressed for time and would like a wide variety of souvenirs, there can't be any better place to go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“anatolian silver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited Anatolian Silver in the French Market. Hasan Cicek helped us and could not have been nicer. My wife likes to purchase a charm for her braclet when we visit unusual places and Hasan had just what she needed. He gave us several discounts and the final price was more than fair. I highly recommend Anatolian Silver to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you're looking for souvenirs, start here first!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

And that's because the souvenir items e.g. fridge magnets, t-shirts are much cheaper here than in the shops. We wished we had, cause those items are non refundable! Other than that, majority of other items could be found in other nearby shops.

However, I did find a few antique items at steal prices, but check carefully, because there's almost always something that needs fixing. If you don't mind that, it's worth buying.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Md
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Check out this fun spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went through this market while in NOLA. It is located on Decatur street at the end of the French Quarter, right past Jackson Square. There are tons of food vendors, souvenirs and artisans to occupy your time. Not a bad place to people watch as well! It was a Saturday and was pretty crowded. We could still find a small bistro table to sit down and eat some lunch. There are lots of tacky souvenirs but there are also some nice local artists selling jewelry, paintings, prints, etc. It is a good place to get a "taste" of New Orleans cuisine as they served all the local dishes that you could walk, eat, share and the price tag didn't break the bank. This is a fun thing to add into your day while in the Jackson Square area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.