We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to walk through; but nothing amazing....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of French Market

French Market
Decatur St, 1100 North Peters, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
504 522 2621
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 112 shopping in New Orleans
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Whether you are seeking an authentic Creole meal of Jumbalaya or a romantic candlelit dinner overlooking the Mississippi, this historic market area is for you.
Purvis, MS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun to walk through; but nothing amazing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

French Market is nothing to be amazed about. One would expect a little better set-up considering the title of being the oldest market in the U.S.. You are able to find a cheap pair of sunglasses, the same Mardi Gras t-shirt 10 different times (all with different vendors at different prices), & tons of tourist junk. You are able to stumble upon the occasional vendor selling homemade products.

Overall; it's fun to stroll through; but don't waste too much time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    189
    98
    31
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great French Market vendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently purchased a pair of earrings at Anatolian Silver in the French Market. I was very impressed by my experience! This vendor sells very high quality jewelry at reasonable prices and provides great customer service. I found them to be better than the other jewelry vendors in the French Market. I highly recommend them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great open air market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Really enjoyed haning around this area. I didn't buy anything but my wife did. The outdoor cafe with music was a treat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“French Market/Flea Market? You say tomato...I say tomato...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If this is really the oldest market in U.S. history, then with that premise...alone...one would assume it would have fruits and vegetables. The only fruits and vegetables I was able to locate were in drink form...many of them containing alcohol. This is a prime example of a flea market full of crap. No matter what the time of day, you can hear foul mouthed four letter words being spewed from the "bar" right across the street (Decatur street)....so, keep your kids' ears covered. Nothing about this market makes it memorable nor enjoyable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Shopping in New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent variety of cheap items. Not a lot of traffic. Vendors complained that the Superbowl kept them from making money. Apparently the city did not advertise the market and many news agencies indicated that it was not safe for people to come to the market.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market also viewed

 

Been to French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added French Market to your Saves list
;