We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monrose Row

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monrose Row
1303 Governor Nicholls, New Orleans, LA (Treme - Lafitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
new hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The real New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Room 3 in March for five nights and then returned to the same room in May (it felt like coming home) for six nights - the latter for a family wedding, and our experience both times was wonderful. Cindy is a great host, welcomed family who dropped by, accommodated our changing plans, and told us about little gems such as the tiny Backstreet Cultural Museum - don't miss it. The B&B is beautiful, the suite comfortable and attractive, and the breakfasts were special every day - the fruit parfait was a particular treat. The location is an easy walk to the French Quarter and as long as you aren't wandering the streets late at night - something we wouldn't suggest anywhere in New Orleans - the neighborhood is quiet and friendly. The garden area we walked through to get to our room is beautiful - small and tasteful. You won't forget you're in New Orleans - a very special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Monrose Row for four nights as part of a road trip discovering the Mississippi. Everything that has been said in previous reviews of the B & B is true, but they do not really reflect the true ambience of the place. Cindy is a fantastic host, she is very knowledgeable about the city and every morning after a delicious breakfast she would ask if we needed any help with our plans for the day, suggesting places of interest and restaurants to try. The house is a real gem and our suite was lovely and immaculately clean. The Terme neighbourhood is friendly and full of interesting characters, we were comfortable walking around both in the daytime and evening. If we are ever back in New Orleans we would definitely stay at Monrose Row and would recommend it to anyone who is considering travelling to New Orleans

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful value B&B close enough to the quarter for the "quarter feel" but far enough away for true piece and quiet. Cindy is wonderful and very helpful. Breakfasts are wonderful, rooms are clean. This place is best for couples wanting to be able to spend some time relaxing. Nothing over the top as far as amenities, but one of the best values and finds in New Orleans. I will return every time I go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the third floor of Monrose Row for a four-day weekend on our first wedding anniversary. Cindy was a wonderful host during our stay. She was very accommodating in letting us drop off our bags early and arranging for our taxi to the airport. She also gave great recommendations on places to eat and visit, and gave me a copy of the recipe for the delicious cheese and collard quiche she served one morning for breakfast.

The house is wonderful as well. It has lots of character and sits on a quiet and pretty street in Treme within easy walking distance to almost everything we wanted to do during our visit. The third floor space is lofty and lets in plenty of natural light.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Every nice thing you have read about Cindy and Monrose Row; from the extraordinary breakfasts, the great recommendations from Cindy, to the attractiveness,cleanliness and comfort of the accommodations, is true and then some. The building, courtyard, and hostess are all so wonderful that, had we never walked out the front door, we still would have had a great time in NOLA. Also, we found the Treme neighborhood warm, welcoming, full of character, and smiling, friendly people. We walked everywhere, day and night. Next time we are in New Orleans, we will stay at the Monrose Row again, and would highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location of this B&B could not be more perfect. Just a block or two from the edge of the French Quarter means you are just a few minuted walk from all the action but do not have to hear the late partiers. We stayed in the suite on the very top floor and it was just amazing. Cindy has done an amazing job with this B&B and this room with its separate living area was a total treat.
Cindy is a gracious and knowledgeable host (and a pretty darn good cook). Upon our arrival I was having trouble finding a parking spot (only because this just happened to be at the start of a parade - usually parking is easy) so Cindy just hopped in the car with me and directed me to an open space. She was absolutely wonderful. You will not be disappointed. What would I change? - not a single thing !

Room Tip: Room # 4 is well worth the extra price if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Cindy's beautiful B&B in November. She was a superb hostess, who is the physical embodiment of Southern hospitality. She shared her vast knowledge of the area including dining options, music venues, quality historical tours and excellent directions to get us to everything safely. Her delicious breakfasts included coffee, fruit and a main dish (almond french toast and collard greens and ham quiche were fantastic!) Her home is beautiful, immaculate and welcoming. Our room was quiet, spacious and romantic. We loved all the old cypress wood details. It is a short, easy, fun walk to the French Quarter. We almost didn't write a review, because we want to keep this gem a secret, but it's just too good not to share!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monrose Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monrose Row

Address: 1303 Governor Nicholls, New Orleans, LA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monrose Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monrose Row to your Saves list