We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give Monrose Row 6 stars I would!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monrose Row

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monrose Row
Save
You added Monrose Row to your Saves list
1303 Governor Nicholls, New Orleans, LA (Treme - Lafitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If I could give Monrose Row 6 stars I would!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 5 nights at Monrose Row in the attic room on the 3rd floor of the slaves quarters and I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough to other travelers! It is the most comfortable accommodation my husband and I have ever stayed in. We feel like Cindy the Inn keeper has created something unique & special with Monrose Row. We felt at home, comfortable and so welcomed! Cindy's attention to detail and genuine interest in our comfort at Monrose Row and enjoyment of New Orleans, far exceeded our expectations. There are too many highlights to list, but in summary, the stand outs for me were:
1) The amazing house: a beautiful historic home restored by Cindy, who has a real flair for design. Very tastefully furnished, beautiful art work, antiques, high quality fixtures & fittings. Our attic room was so spacious, with a large bed room and sitting area with daybed & modern bedroom. Lovely linens, towels, toiletries supplied. Our room was absolutely spotless, Cindy's personal attention to detail in room presentation was wonderful.
2) The location: just a couple of blocks and several minutes walk to the French Quarter. Close enough to the action, but not right in the hustle & bustle. Within easy reach of live music venues, restaurants, cafes, bars & shopping. Definitely the best part of the city. We were aware from previous reviewers that the suburb might appear at first run down. It's similar to many inner city suburbs anywhere you go, they were once poor suburbs and have become gentrified. There was absolutely no issues walking the area day or night.
3) Cindy's local knowledge: having lived in the area for over 20 years, Cindy was able to provide local knowledge that hotels can't provide. We greatly appreciated her recommendations of the less touristy sights to see, including music venues, day trips, shopping & visiting historic homes. We also mentioned our interest in finding a gym nearby and Cindy gave us the brochure & fitness class timetable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
53
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Monrose Row is an excellent B&B. Cindy the host goes out of her way to make sure you have the best stay, from the presentation of her B&B, to sharing the local insights, hints and tips on what to visit. The breakfasts are excellent, and she provided a good variety of food over the 5 nights we stayed there (eg home made granola, waffles with fruit, fresh fruit cups and more). She certainly does make you feel at home, is a local with local advice, everything is done tastefully and to a high quality standard. The room was well presented, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed (including fans and a/c to escape the humid New Orleans heat). The separate living space was a big advantage. While not located in the french quarter it is within easy walking distance, and is also located at the Frenchman Street (great local restaurants and Jazz clubs) end of the French Qtr. Its the kind of place that you would tell all your friends about, and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had a double bed, living space with TV and bathroom. It is a part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wonderful accomodation for an assault on New Orleans. location is perfect just a 2-3 min walk to the french quarter - accom was perfect and the Cindy was very helpful who can def cook and keeps a gorgeous home! Would def recommend to anyone going to New Orleans. The perfect haven from the New Orleans madness!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Monrose Row for a few days this past May, and we had such a good time that I can't stop raving about it to friends. Everything about this B&B is superlative, from the beautiful decor, to the spacious rooms, to the delicious breakfasts prepared by the friendly and informative owner, Cindy. Her attention to detail is mind-blowing--the place was spotless, and she has a rare eye for design. We also got some great tips from her about restaurants to try and events going on in the city. I would go back there in a heartbeat--heck, I'd live there, if I could. In short, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Monrose Row. It's a beautiful place! I'm not into antiques, I'm more a modern design lover but the decoration is very tasteful, so very unlike many other B&B's with tacky overloaded deco. Cindy was very helpful in giving directions, she made us feel welcome and served a nice healthy breakfast.

Like a previous reviewer mentioned, the area is not high scale. But we had the impression that the whole city is like that, in desperate need of some renovation. Nevertheless, we never had any problems. People in the street are friendly, saying "how y'all doin' " in that nice southern accent without any bad intentions. We walked back to the B&B from the French Quarter late at night and never felt unsafe.

Only one thing that bothered us: the bed. It was a full size bed, but it felt like a big one person bed (we are used to a king size at home). It would have been a perfect stay if the bed was bigger.

That said, if we ever go back to Nola.. we'll definitely stay at Monrose row again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Cindy was amazing and we sincerely hope she won't be offended that we gave 4 stars, not 5 as everyone else has done. We definitely do recommend the Monrose Row House B & B. There was nothing to complain about; it was truly wonderful. But we try to be as honest and insightful as possible or reviews don't help others. From reading the other reviews, we knew that this home is located in a "down scale" area 2 blocks from the outskirts of the French Quarter. This has it's pluses: It's very quiet at night. It's very easy to walk to everything in the French Quarter. But when we first arrived, we were leery. The neighborhood was more rundown than we had anticipated. But we had confidence in our fellow tripadvisor reviewers and parked and checked in. Inside the Monrose Row House is like a different world. Immaculately clean. Beautifully restored. Artfully (is that a word) decorated. We stayed in the two-room suite on the third floor and it was completely comfortable and totally private. Breakfast, prepared by Cindy (this amazing lady does everything here) was a delight. Loved the fresh fruit, almond French toast, and quiche on another day. (I don't even like quiche much but hers was truly yummy.) Also, homemade muffins and more.

So why four stars instead of five. Little nit picky things, I guess. We could not get the TV to work, although Cindy did give us instructions. We really didn't care, we didn't come to watch TV, just wanted the news and weather. Perhaps, showing us rather than telling us how would have helped. In all fairness, we didn't ask her again. I'm sure she'd have been right there to help. Ice was only available when we asked. It would be nice to have it offered and available to us in the kitchen whenever we needed it. No snacks, sodas, or evening wine or appetizers are included. Certainly not a problem at all, but 5 star B & Bs do offer this. We did have plenty of bottled water provided in our room which was appreciated (but again, no ice.) Finally, even if all of these, admittedly, nitpicky details been offered, it' hard to give 5 stars when the surrounding neighborhood was so suspect. It's like this: We live in a highrise in downtown Orlando. There's a neighborhood 7 blocks away that we have absolutely no hesitancy to walk through during to day, but at night it's a different story. Take the adive of us and other reviewers, if you stay at the Monrose Row House you can feel very safe, but if out after dark, be smart and take a taxi.

One word or concern about our third floor room for future visitors. Presently, this room is above a room that is being restored to add another room for visitors. (The other two rooms currently available are in the old slave quarters.) I'm afraid this fourth, to be added room is going to hear the wood floor in the third floor room creaking and groaning above it. We were happy no one was under us during our stay as it made a lot of noise when we walked. Also, the stairwell which services only these two rooms only has beautiful old, probably original, wooden stair steps. They echo like crazy when you walk on them. I don't know how Cindy can keep this from being a nosie issue once there are two rooms on the same stairwell, but maybe she has a plan.

Finally, someone else (thank you) mention that you can get really good fired chicken at the gas station 2 blocks away. (Rampart and Governor Nichols.) We thought, now who would want to get gas station chicken when in New Orleans with all its great restaurants? However, one evening we were so tired and my feet so sore, we simply picked up some of that gas station chicken and took it back to the room. It was delicious and we didn't have to go out again. Call it althernate Plan B. New Orleans is a fantastic place to visit and this was a fantastic place to stay. Monrose Row House gets our endorsement.

This is the longest review we've ever written. We hope it's helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Far from the drunkards on Bourbon Street yet only two blocks from the historic French Quarter is the best Bed & Breakfast in New Orleans. The rooms are meticulous, welcoming, warm. We stayed in the room with the full bed; there was an adjacent sitting room which was perfect for my husband to do some work while I relished in our oasis.

The entire space is a designer's and restorer's dream. Cindy has impeccable taste and you can tell that she has put hours of work and thought into every last detail, from fixtures to furniture. Monrose Row is a true B&B -- breakfast was one of the highlights of each day, as Cindy is an amazing cook. Our first morning, she served THE BEST french toast I have ever had, in addition to fresh fruit, organic blueberry syrup, oj, and coffee. On our second morning, it was a delicious quiche, made from scratch.

As a hostess, Cindy is gracious, kind, and knowledgeable. This IS as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The room with the full bed and adjacent sitting room was perfect for our couple getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Monrose Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monrose Row

Address: 1303 Governor Nicholls, New Orleans, LA
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monrose Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.