We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gumbo Pot

The Gumbo Pot
Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA
Improve this listing
Ranked #564 of 1,602 restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the Jackson Brewery Shopping Center with side walk seating on side street (not Decatur St.). I believe this restuarant is opened only about one month? My review would be a possitive one.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Good food! Excellent service. Had the creole sampler meal with shrimp, crawfish, and jambalaya. Spouse had catfish poboy! Oh, and the Jackson brewery isn't really a brewery anymore, but we still had some local Abita beer.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    83
    87
    70
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jambalaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent Jambalaya. Great staff. Great location if you are hungry and just coming from a tour. Its also located near a shopping center.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood Gumbo, Crab, Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very good, cheerful, colorful ambience to go with the warm Seafood Gumbo bowl that I ordered. Shrimp and crabmeat come in the Seafood Gumbo and it was good. I have had much better gumbo at other places but would not count this one completely out. In addition, the presentation of the dish was great and the server was very friendly and attentive. I would consider returning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxworth, Mississippi
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“The Gumbo Pot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was probably just a bad day for this restaurant. My red beans were burnt and the shrimp creole had hardly any flavor. The etouffee just wasn't that great either. I tried my husband's jambalaya and it wasn't that good either. I wanted to like this place since it cost a lot to eat here, and it is in an excellent location. The service was good and friendly though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“There are better places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Had the carb cakes - way to much bread -one enough crab.
Service I was very slow - even for NO. Wife had gumbo. It was not too bad.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gumbo Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Gumbo Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gumbo Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.