We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daisy Dukes

Daisy Dukes
121 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
+1 504-561-5171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Family Fare, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: At Daisy Dukes Restaurant in New Orleans, we don't do it fancy. Instead, we emphasize on creating a true southern atmosphere and providing the best cajun dining experience you can find in New Orleans. We have found great success in always serving great food, for a great price all with great service.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The value for the amount of food you got was great. Very easy to share a meal. Some servers were nice others were a little crabby. Would come back to again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    520
    199
    49
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the outside you would not imagine this being a good find,but it is so worth giving it a try.The food is great and very affordable.The staff is exceptional.Great find.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Point, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shrimp Remoulade!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our 13th visit to New Orleans and first visit to Daisy Dukes. We went in mid-afternoon when it was in between lunch and dinner so there was no wait. Service was prompt and very friendly and attentive. I started with a cup of crab etoufee. It was delicious and deceptively filling. Next I ordered shrimp remoulade. Oh my! This portion could have easily served two people. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the remoulade was just wonderful. Just the right amount of tang, served nice and cold over a bed of lettuce which soaked up the delicious sauce and made for a nice side salad. I took half of it back to our hotel and enjoyed the rest the next day. I think it was even better! Husband had basic pancakes which were good. We will definitely return next trip. Reasonable prices and comfortable casual atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food was average. The salad was filled with more croutons than what I would have wanted. The seasoning was not up to par but it was tolerable. The service was average.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad Food and Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We wanted a quick supper and we saw some police officers walking out the door after eating here on their break, so we thought that was a good sign. Bad idea. The experience started with the waitress rudely tossing the menus down onto our table as she passed by and then walking away. The food was pitiful and had grease, grease and more grease. Tried a legendary New Orleans Po' Boy and it was dreadful. Dry, tasteless semi-stale bread, super-greasy super-salty fried shrimp, one little takeout packet of mayonnaise for flavoring. The only positive thing I could say about this place was that the Coca-Cola was good; they couldn't screw that up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daisy Dukes also viewed

 

Been to Daisy Dukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daisy Dukes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.