We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant right on Bourbon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier 424 Seafood Market

Pier 424 Seafood Market
424 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
5043091574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #379 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Pier 424 is a unique Bourbon Street destination offering a wide selection of fresh, local seafood prepared daily in a market-style setting. Select from all the freshest fare-oysters, lobsters, boiled seafood and fresh fish-served in traditional dishes. Features include one of the largest oyster bars in the city and covered balcony for dining and enjoying the city’s world famous people watching.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant right on Bourbon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stopped here for lunch soon after we checked into our hotel the first night of New Orleans. The restaurant is right on Bourbon but was a nice restaurant not fitting it's surroundings. I cannot remember our server's name but she was really nice and even helped us decide what to do, providing us a map etc... She was very nice and due to the slow time of the restaurant she was able to speak to us in detail about some of the stuff we should do and what we should expect from Bourbon St. at night. The service was fast and the food was good. My husband got the special ( red beans and rice with chicken thighs) and he enjoyed it. I got the shrimp which were delicious and tasted fresh. I recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Vanessa,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your food and service while dining at Pier 424 and look forward to your next visit to New Orleans.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Pier 424 Seafood Market Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    112
    73
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food overlooking Bourbon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The food is veryyyyyy good. This is our favorite place to eat on Bourbon. The gumbo is some of the best we have ever had and the crawfish wraps are very refreshing. Sitting on the balcony and watching revelers is worth its weight in gold. The staff is a bit sluggish but I'm sure it is taxing working with drunks 24/7. The food is worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Laurie,
Im happy you enjoyed the food and view from our balcony during your recent visit. While it can be taxing working on Bourbon Street, you should expect and receive great service at all times. I have shared your comments with my managers and staff to ensure we are delivering service that is as good as our food. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Pier 424 Seafood Market Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food was very good. Unfortunately they wanted to seat us in the far back of the restaurant even though tables were available with a Burbon Street view. They eventually moved us when a loud party of 8 got seated next to us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Jeff
Im glad you enjoyed our food and i apologize for the seating area. I will address with my door staff to ensure that we are offering the best available table at the time you arrive. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for the great review.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Pier 424 Seafood Market Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our waitress MONIKA, did a great job. It was hot in the Quarter and we wanted to sit outside and watch the crowd while we ate. Even though we were the only table upstairs on the balcony, Monika provided great service. Food was great and cocktails were, well generous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Ken,
Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. We agree that Monika does a great job and I will pass along your kind words to her. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Pier 424 Seafood Market Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food....stopped in for lunch. The crabcakes were excellent!! My husband got a gumbo soup...he loved it!! The best was the dessert....smores breadpudding!!!.....delicious!!
Our waitress was Monika.....she was awesome. Can't wait to go back to that crazy city and visit this restaurant....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Trina,
Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. Believe it or not, this is not the first, second or even third great review for Monika. We are so glad you found us on your recent visit and hope you do make it back to New Orleans soon.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Pier 424 Seafood Market Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 424 Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Pier 424 Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier 424 Seafood Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.