We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel recommended restsurant for oysters and it didn't disappoint.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal House Oyster Bar

Royal House Oyster Bar
441 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
504-528-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hotel recommended restsurant for oysters and it didn't disappoint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 different kinds of ways the oysters were prepared. We loved them all. Had the crab appetizer which was delicious. Fun casual atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    323
    222
    74
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Food and lots of it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and ate up on the balcony overlooking Royal Street. The service was very good. We could not get over how huge the portions were for lunch. I had the catfish platter and my wife a chicken Cesar salad and neither of us could finish our meals.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fresh, plump, and inexpensive!
Check out both the raw and Char-Grilled Oysters! It's worth the stop. The Royal House steps-up the NOLA Oyster Bar scene and delivers both quality food and a reasonable price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went here one night in new Orleans around new years and were all pleasantly surprised at the great food and service. When you aren't sure where to go and just by walking find a place like this you feel lucky, which we were. We enjoyed it so much that we went back a few nights later. Great oysters of course and everything we ordered was really yummy. We ordered crab claws also alligator and snow crab legs.The waitresses were also fun, so I would recommend this place for sure

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very good oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Been a couple times, the charbroiled oysters will make you fall in love with oysters even if you've always hated them, trust me! The host at the door is always pretty good at getting us a place to sit and eat,very nice,the actual servers/waiters are not that great. The food is ok,well their gumbo I didn't care for,and I love gumbo, I had a fresh salad that was not so fresh but the manager brought me out a fresher one and took it off my tab(that's good service) overall the oysters is what kept me going back,they are freaking amazing,I guess with it being an oyster place I can't really expect them to be the best at other foods but they definitely perfected the oysters

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal House Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Royal House Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal House Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.