We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good oysters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal House Oyster Bar

Royal House Oyster Bar
441 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
504-528-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stopped in for late lunch.. Had Oysters on half shell. Very good. Best bloody Mary's we have had all week. Service was good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    284
    94
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“BEST in New Orleans!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I live in South Louisiana, aka Cajun country, and I know what good seafood is supposed to taste like and the seafood here is the REAL DEAL! Raw oysters were delicious and the oyster BLT-O was fantastic, oysters were fried and seasoned to perfection. The mahi dish was also GREAT! The staff was just as impressive as the food-friendly, knowledgable, and fast. There are lots of places in NOLA to eat, from dives to palaces, the Royal House fits somewhere in between but on top of the list as far as food, atmosphere, and service. It is a MUST and our new favorite spot.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Definite Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Love, love, love the grilled oysters. The best grilled oysters, french bread and their bloody mary for sitting at the bar. Fantastic service and food. Its always on the rotation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awsome Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I ate here twice. The first time, I wandered in to get oysters and had a seat in the dining room by the window...the food was perfect. The oysters were so big and fresh, I was really glad I stopped in here...the wine was good too. So that was nice.

Then i went back 2 days later, and got oysters again and a fried oyster po' boy. And a great local beer. It was a perfect meal, although I took most of the sandwich home! I was talking with Thomas, who works there, and he was soooooooo nice and informative about New Orleans, and I loved talking with him...

You can sit at the bar and get oysters too, which I would have done if I went a third time! This place is relaxing and has a great view of the wrought iron on Royal street out of the entrance windows. Love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Terrific oysters at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I love raw oysters and this is the place to have them - I ordered 12, then 12 more… simply delicious with bread and butter. I tried the Oyster shooter which was also awesome – This place also has exquisite deserts.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal House Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Royal House Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal House Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.