We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love the Marigny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faubourg Marigny

Faubourg Marigny
New Orleans, LA (Bywater)
Update attraction details
Ranked #16 of 166 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Neighborhoods
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A charming historic district of New Orleans dating back to the early 1800s.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Love love love the Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you're traveling to New Orleans, I highly recommend staying in this neighborhood if you enjoy a local experience. This neighborhood is relaxed, colorful and friendly. Great food, nightlife and community. Excellent proximity to the French Quarter (an easy walk from just about anywhere in the neighborhood), but just far enough away that you aren't accosted by drunken tourists the moment you leave your front door. I've never had any problems regarding safety and I've walked the streets of the neighborhood both day and night during several trips over the past few years.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    28
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Faubourg Marigny - full of wonderful surprises! Great food (Snug Harbor, Parline Connection), interesting music and bars - Snug Harbor for Jazz, Spotted Cat, DBA for its big selection of brews and Scotches and great inexpensive music. There's more to New Orleans than just the French Quarter! Be sure to check out Faubourg Marigny, the first suburb in the U. S.!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I lived there for many years. It is a terrific neighborhood and I enjoyed my time there. I pass through it ever day on my way home or to the quarter

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
233 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Colourful buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just next to French Quarters. Walk around Marigny and along Esplanade Ave to view some colourful buildings. Met the Dancing Man with his very interesting story about second line dancing. Louis Armstrong Park is nice and serene, sit under tree for a picnic lunch. Next to this is Congo Square with lovely huge trees.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Great New Orleans Neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are getting ready to take our 6th trip to New Orleans. We always stay in the Marigny. We love the neighborhood feel, the friendly people, the great places to eat and drink, etc. We don't spend all that much time on Frenchman Street, we hang our mostly on Royal Street, Mandeville, Burgandy and Spain. This is away from the rowdy crowds on Frenchman, but walking distance to it. In the six visits, we have met many of the neighbors who always stop by to talk or have drinks with us on the front porch. Take time to get away from the crowds and see a real NOLA neighborhood, and admire the great variety of architecture.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faubourg Marigny also viewed

 

Been to Faubourg Marigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faubourg Marigny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.