We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great New Orleans Neighborhood.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faubourg Marigny

Faubourg Marigny
New Orleans, LA (Bywater)
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming historic district of New Orleans dating back to the early 1800s.
Iowa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A Great New Orleans Neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are getting ready to take our 6th trip to New Orleans. We always stay in the Marigny. We love the neighborhood feel, the friendly people, the great places to eat and drink, etc. We don't spend all that much time on Frenchman Street, we hang our mostly on Royal Street, Mandeville, Burgandy and Spain. This is away from the rowdy crowds on Frenchman, but walking distance to it. In the six visits, we have met many of the neighbors who always stop by to talk or have drinks with us on the front porch. Take time to get away from the crowds and see a real NOLA neighborhood, and admire the great variety of architecture.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    51
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Best kept secret of New Orleans. New Orleanians know its the place to be. The best music venues can be found here by night, and the home of interesting art festival planted throughout the day. The marigny is the home of quirky neighborhood madness and the infamous Frenchman St., which is the "Bourbon Street" of the locals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“beautiful neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

key word... neighborhood.... not much to do here... but plenty to see... and great B&B's to stay in... While you are there, you have to check out Pho King in the Lost Love Lounge, tapas at Mimi's (and that just a great bar all around), and go a few more blocks away from the corner and check out Markey's and The Country Club...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEER PARK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Part of the Post Hurricane Katrina Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The (Post) Hurricane Katrina Tour was about 2 -3 hours in a shuttle bus (i believe it was operated by Grey Line Tours). We visited Faubourg Marigny, the Lower 9th Ward, Lake Pontchartrain, etc as part of the tour. We saw a number of rebuilding projects and parts still devasted by Katrina. the Tour, though a little expensive in terms of activity fees, was well worth it. It was very good that our tour guide/driver was a native of the area. He added some personal stories relevant to the time before and after Katrina, that just made the tour more interesting and real. Very good tour and good way to see Faubourg Marigny and other parts of New Orleans. Would likely do it again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mixed, mixed! Be safe!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very mixed opinions on the area. Shocked that NOLA doesn't provide an officer evenings. People start about 5:30 and in full swing by 10. Crowd is mixed from middle age to college kids. No place to take your children. Good dinner selection at Aldofos & Snug Harbor. Great music at several locations. Street vendors with cool and strange merchandise. Young adults set up to sell poetry. Lots of "street People" including homeless people. Becoming a very dicey area. We were harassed by a possible homeless man. He wouldn't leave and we didn't know what to do. Another man gave him money and got us all a taxi. Kids on sidewalks with fire shows. Drinking. Marijuana in plain view on Saturday night. Everyone has a dog on leash. Became scary when a girls shepherd mix picked on a guys Rottweiler. Good thing he was in control. Honestly, if you are over 40, take a taxi, listen to music, eat, get in the taxi and go back to your hotel. Until NOLA decides to have a police presence it will only go down hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faubourg Marigny also viewed

 

Been to Faubourg Marigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faubourg Marigny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.