We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frenchman St and the Faubourg Marigny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faubourg Marigny

Faubourg Marigny
New Orleans, LA (Bywater)
Improve this listing
Visit Faubourg Marigny like an insider
Top Rated
$80*
and up
New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane...
Ranked #37 of 461 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A charming historic district of New Orleans dating back to the early 1800s.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Frenchman St and the Faubourg Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Faubourg Marugny is the neighborhood just adjacent to the French Quarter. Unlike Bourbon St., with its dance clubs and younger crowd drinking too much, Frenchman St is the place to go for music! In a 3-4 block stretch, there are probably a dozen live music venues featuring jazz, rock, blues... Great resturants and bars, in a much safer environment than Bourbon!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    63
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amost a mirror image of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Marigny, as it is called in New Orleans, is located just across
Esplanade behind the French Quarter. The Marigny is home to many fine restaurants and has truly become a sought after location for entertainment and dining by locals and tourists alike.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home of Many Music Venues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Faubourg Marigny is the neighborhood just downriver from the historic French Quarter. It has much of the architectural charm of the French Quarter, but not as commercial. The real estate is a bit more affordable and just as "charming" as the FQ. Frenchman Street is a very popular street for people looking for the "live music" scene. Besides great music venues there are a number of affordable eateries!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“If you want to hang with the locals - come here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed in a great bed and breakfast here - the Burgundy - see my review - it is a cramped, amd neighborhood, everything feels on top of everything else - it's a charming clutter of lovely historic homes, bed and breakfasts, little coffee shops, and local bars, with trees uprooting the bits were there are sidewalks - it's parked cars and people walking dogs, and sitting on their stoops watching the world go by, strains of 'as the saints go marching in' emanate from open windows. people are fixing their cars, riding their bikes, and living their lives...you really feel like a local - it abuts Frenchman Street - i felt safe walking around myself at night, but i was aware of my surroundings and made sure that i wasn't going down deserted streets - after dark, i kept to Royal Street and Frenchman and Decatur Streets and i was fine - taxis are so cheap that you can use them if you feel something is not right - United Cabs is the one the locals trust the most!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always something happening in the Marigny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great neighborhood where we spent a few days at an Air bnb, exploring the shops and coffee cafes; easily getting to downtown NOLA walking or biking or by car. It's an urban neighborhood with remnants of Katrina and lots of good people. After hearing jazz at Snug Harbor on a weekend night, we went across Frenchmen Street to a delightful street fair, selling local arts and crafts. Get away from the silliness on Bourbon Street and enjoy a fun evening in the Marigny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Faubourg Marigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faubourg Marigny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.