We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer and Music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of d.b.a.

d.b.a.
618 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)
1 504-942-3731
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 198 nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Popular club in New Orleans attracts an eclectic crowd.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved watching a local band and trying local brews. No kitchen, but our bartender suggested getting take-out from somewhere on your way over.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best live show -Glen David Andrew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place on Frenchman is the place to be. Went on a Monday night and the cover is $5. We bought the CD and tipped the band twice. That was how much fun it was from 10pm-1 am. We enjoyed every minute. The drinks were cheap compared to LA standards and the choices were plenty!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Music!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This place was recommended as a non-touristy place, and it was dead on! The night we went there, local legend John Boutté was playing. The man was incredible and the audience loved every minute of it! We ran into Clarke Peters from Treme and The Wire also. The beer selection was wide and the place was lively and definitely worth the cover charge.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“DBA - where locals and tourists mingle to great music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Go to this club with the Treme Brass Band is playing...usually fairly often. We had a rousing night with great draft beers and locally concocted cocktails at good prices. Cover charge was only $5 and cowboys were dancing with urban girls from NYC. Some women got on stage and danced with the fantastic Treme Brass Band.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“what a trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

d.b.a. is a most unique place. Many, many odd types of beer, lots on draft. If you want unique flavors, this is your place. The ambience is, well, gritty. Bands play on one side of the club. A few bar seats, then open floor space. We heard Tuba Skinny (young players with old souls, or they were channeling Bessie Smith, Kid Ory and others).

Didn't try the food, but the whole spirit of the place was funky. Loved it. The night we were there, they were doing a "save the animals" benefit.

Odd note: So this older couple from Mississippi came up to the bar, the fellow (in a Stetson) ordered a Budweiser. They don't serve Bud, Miller or Coors.

His comment - "No BUDWEISER? This place is a [expletive deleted] Obama bar!" Gotta love it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed d.b.a. also viewed

 

Been to d.b.a.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage d.b.a., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added d.b.a. to your Saves list