We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet's Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sweet's Inn Motel to your Saves list
Sweet's Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3610 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Vernon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Scam Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I and a friend booked this motel through Booking.com as we were attending Super Bowl. We arrived to find out it was not as described in Booking.com. It was damaged with the hurricane a number of years ago and is still in bad shape and is inhabitable. There was black mould in our room and was totally unhealthy place. We booked online for three days without a refund. The room cost us over $1300.00 we ended up having to stay on a chair in a friends room at another hotel. The motel was so bad that the taxi drivers would not take us to it. We were advised by the taxi drivers that the place was a drug house as well a place where you rent by the hour.....we are attempting to get our money back or a portion of it from Booking.com. We will see how reputable Booking.com is as they advertise as the number one booking agency in the U.S for all types of vacations.

This building should be CONDEMNED!!!!!!!!!! City of New Orleans should be ashamed to issue a licence to this building. It is very unsafe.

Room Tip: DO not stay here, health hazard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimesh p, General Manager at Sweet's Inn Motel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I am sincerely sorry to hear you had bad experience at our motel. The motel was under different management/owner during the years 2013 and 2014. We have taken necessary step to address the issue that many previous guest have mentioned. The new owner/manager have implemented new rules and regulation so that future enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    0
    8
See reviews for
3
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went thru Booking.COM to schedule a room in New Orleans for the Super Bowl. Like many other big events there are always those people that are looking for the quick buck. Well Sweet's Inn Motel was one of them. The hotel is not functional, as the plumbing is still not working form the Hurricane that hit months ago. What they do, charge you an exorbent rate, then when you get there, tell you they are having issues with plumbing. Then they send you to a slums area of New Orleans and put us up in a Hotel that had no Hot water, no Toilet paper, and one bed was broken. In addition, the Manager at Sweet's Inn yeld at us when we told them we would not be paying $510 for the room. Interesting enough, Booking.COM after reviewing supported our position.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vimesh p, General Manager at Sweet's Inn Motel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
I am sincerely sorry to hear you had bad experience at our motel. The motel was under different management/owner during the years 2013 and 2014. We have taken necessary step to address the issue that many previous guest have mentioned. The new owner/manager have implemented new rules and regulation so that future enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet's Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet's Inn Motel

Address: 3610 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet's Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sweet's Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet's Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.