We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Plave in New Orleans, Hands Down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Coulon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pierre Coulon Guest House
Save Saved
You added Pierre Coulon Guest House to your Saves list
714 Spain Street, New Orleans, LA (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
“My favorite Plave in New Orleans, Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Honestly I’m a bit torn about writing this review. On the one hand, the Pierre Coulon Guest House is easily the best located, most quaint, and best value in all of New Orleans. On the other hand, my selfish side is pressing me to try to keep it a secret as much as possible, in hopes it isn’t booked for my next trip.
First and foremost the owners/proprietors (Stephen and Rich) are super friendly and accommodating. They will give you insight to the area if you wish and are really great about making you feel right at home. You’ll leave feeling as if you have just made two new friends, and most likely, you will have!
The grounds and building itself represent everything that is great about the area. You are led through a little side door and through a classic hidden courtyard to the guest house. Once inside you’ll see that it’s actually two stories and more inviting than any bland hotel could possibly hope to be. It even has an upstairs balcony that is great for morning coffee and a cigarette (If you are dumb enough to smoke, as I am)
It’s just a short jaunt to the French quarter, but just far enough away to be a bit secluded. There is a fantastic little independent bakery/restaurant up the street, as well as other little hidden gems.
I travel extensively, and get to New Orleans quite often. I always try to stay at Stephen and Rich’s place first. ALWAYS! Take it from a seasoned traveler, no contest, this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: Go to the bar up the street named "Mimi's". Sit at the bar downstairs, and order the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Twp, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Pierre Coulon Guest House has the old-world charm of a house built in the 1800's. It is furnished with beautiful and well-kept antique furniture, complementing the package.
Everything was provided for the casual stay, even snacks, etc.
You will have to do your cooking in the microwave, but with so many excellent restaurants within walking distance, why bother?
Stephen and Rich take marvelous care of the place and it is so clean that there aren't even any bugs, my biggest worry, as I didn't want one hitching a ride to live with us back up North. Didn't see a single one!
The neighborhood is very quiet, making for a nice restful place, so I hope you don't come with the idea of partying into the night. You are only a few blocks from the French Quarter, where you can find plenty to do.

Room Tip: The back bedroom upstairs offers the most privacy, but you aren't sharing this with others. Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Owners are friendly and super-helpful. We've always received the right blend of privacy and friendliness. Love the location and the comfort of the guesthouse - we're returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We've stayed at lots of places in the Marigny district, but the Pierre Coulon Guesthouse tops 'em all. It's a separate house in a courtyard behind the main house, 2 bedrooms and a bath above a kitchen and living room. The kitchen is stocked with cereals, fruits, coffee, half-&-half and the refrigerator even came stocked with a half-gallon of cranberry juice! But, if cereal isn't your thing you are one block from the Cake Cafe, which has great breakfasts.
Our hosts, Steven and Rich, were great: genial, informative regarding the city and surrounding neighborhoods, in particular concerning dining opportunities off the well-beaten tourist path.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We loved our stay at the Pierre Coulon guesthouse over Mardi Gras 2012. Looking for a place where we could all stay together, this guesthouse provided an excellent value and more of a unique experience than a normal hotel. The rooms are cute, very clean, and the kitchen/living room were thoughtfully stocked. Daily housekeeping (clean towels, trash emptied etc.) was a really nice touch and a reminder that this is more than just a house rental. Breakfast/snacks provided were light (coffee/milk/cereal - the coffee was much appreciated!!) but that's exactly what we wanted, because other breakfast places in the area are amazing... the surrounding neighborhood is adorable and the walk even to the french quarter is pretty short, 20 minutes or so, and we also appreciated the chance to stretch our legs a bit. Frenchman street is even closer. Overall a wonderful location and house to stay in.

Having a leisurely cup of coffee on the beautiful patio, before going out to the parades, was one of my favorite memories of our trip! What a pretty, picturesque place to stay.

The hosts were also very accommodating and a perfect balance of being available whenever we needed something, but not infringing on our privacy at all...the private entrance to the house helps with that... and they were so, so nice, from our email correspondence, booking the house, providing lots of tips/literature for the area, etc.

I would definitely stay here again if we're back in New Orleans. We were a group of friends in our late 20's but I'm imagining returning with my family and enjoying the guesthouse experience again. Wonderful! Thanks Rich and Stephen!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

this is not the place for someone looking for a traditional b&b. that being said, it was fine for what we needed, which was a quiet place to stay and a decent location if you're not looking to patrol the quarter for your whole trip. breakfast is self-serve in the single-room guesthouse. nothing fancy... cereals, breakfast bars, etc. instead walk down the street to the little cake shop for a great breakfast. they've also raised the price over the last couple years, so it's not the great deal it once was.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a beautiful place. It's a separate guest house, with it's own entrance so very private. The first floor has a kitchen/dining/living room area and the upstairs two nice sized bedrooms and bathroom. One bedroom has a door. The decor was perfect for this old home, and very comfortable. All amenities you need are here plus. Milk, coffee, breakfast items and all sorts of things you might need for bath are provided.
The courtyard was one of my favorite spot, a little oasis full of greenery and flowers, which was so nice as we'd just come from the brown, cold north.

The French Quarter and the French Market are an easy walk. It's close to the "action" but far enough away for plenty of peace and quiet. Stephen was so very helpful, telling us about parade routes, and places for coffee, etc. Every guidebook you could want was in the rental, plus brochures on many other trips. There was even a 2012 Mardi Gras guide!

This was perfect for our family of four. I would highly recommend staying here if heading to New Orleans. Hope to return to NOLA soon, and hope to stay here again. It's so much nicer than a bland, over-priced hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre Coulon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Coulon Guest House

Address: 714 Spain Street, New Orleans, LA
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Coulon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.