We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flatbread pizza. A must in the Crescent City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domenica

Domenica
123 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
504 648 6020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,628 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal Street
Description: Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great flatbread pizza. A must in the Crescent City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice vibe and energy plus awesome food. A very knowledgeable and professional staff. Try any of the pizzas...just beware the 12" is really more like 15".

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    255
    70
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Edible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I really wanted to love Domenica. After being blown away by Besh's flagship August, I thought if Domenica had only a fraction of that magic, it would be a good dinner. The restaurant came recommended by a local, my aunt, a 5-star foodie, to be sure. And perhaps we should have taken her suggestion to get the whole head of cauliflower, which is really what she raved about. But I had the goat, which was braised and served with shapeless overcooked vegetables. The flavors all just kind of blended together, like Moroccan baby food. We had 3 pasta dishes, all of which were pretty good, and all told, if I were to ever go back, I'd only order pasta (oh, and the cauliflower). But the space was not great, either. Cavernous and cacophonous. The acoustics were so atrocious that while the restaurant was only half-full, you would have thought we were in Grand Central Station at rush hour. Our server was louche and inattentive - probably distracted by the shapes and colors of his own jewelry, or stifled by the tightness of his shirt. Domenica felt like a carbon copy of Otto, Mario Batali's populist venture in Greenwich Village. But everything Batali does reeks of Italy. Besh should stay in France for now and stop phoning it in with Domenica.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First time was awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was my first time visiting Domenica. We heard about happy hour and decided to give it a try for a quick bite to eat before the parades on Lundi Gras. The pizza was awesome, loved the prosciutto and arugula was awesome and so were the cocktails. The service was very good, having a team of three helped a lot since it was so busy. Had a great time there, the only thing i wish was that they put some kind of barrier between the front door and the first row of tables. It was about 40 outside and every time someone opened the door we got a blast of cold air.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clam Pizza..yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose to grab lunch (and dessert on another day) at Domenica because the restaurant was in the hotel where were staying. My wife had the clam pizza which was so good that I gave up eating my margherita pizza so that I could eat more of her pizza (mine was good too though).

We came back another night for dessert and a couple of drinks. They had a great selection of dessert wines and cellos. We had the chocolate hazelnut pudding with candied hazelnuts and the dark chocolate with orange tartufo. We were both happy with our choices and glad that we came back there for dessert after not seeing anything that appealed to us for dessert at the restaurant where we ate dinner.

The service was very good on both occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Chic Pizza off Canal Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Oh my hasn't New Orleans gotten fancy? This is a chic and sleek Italian and pizza place attached to the Waldorf Astoria off Canal Street. Some people might find it a little sterile and un-New Orleans, but the food is quite excellent. The pizzas were perfection and the service was friendly and professional. It's all very lovely. It could be in Boston or Seattle though so for tourists
you need to be more in the mood for good brick oven pizza than for New Orleans character.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenica also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Domenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.