We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domenica

Domenica
123 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
504 648 6020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal Street
Description: Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wanted to go to a John Besh restaurant and this was my choice. Great Happy Hour prices on Tapas style plates as well as their wonderful pizzas. We went to 2 restaurants this night eating lightly ( or trying to). The server was great the food was great. The only minus was the hostess had a little attitude when we said we didn't have reservations. We got there just as they opened so I would make a reservation next time. Loved It !!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    289
    82
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you are craving pizza...eat here!! I hated to just choose one pizza because all the menu choices sounded delicious. Great atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Big Name - Huge let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

During our stay at The Roosevelt Hotel, we decided to trying Domenica. Apparently this restaurant is very popular and it is nearly possible to get a table on the weekends without a reservation. Well, we tried it and it was a huge disappointment. From the service staff to the food, nothing about this place is better than average. In fact, I would even go as far as to say it is below average! The menu is definitely unique and sounds interesting, but the actual delivery of the food was horrible. We had soggy, bland Red Fish and runny Eggplant. The servers will run around like chickens and don't give you any special advice or service.

In a city with so many great restaurants, I recommend you go elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy in my Tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place was amazing. Great food and excellent service. I wish I could eat there on a daily basis. The mixed greens salad was one of the best things I have ever eaten. If you are in New Orleans do yourself a favor and eat here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A Bit Too Noisey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stopped here hoping to enjoy a nice Italian meal. Although good pasta and pizza dishes we found it to be a bit too noisey to truly enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenica also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Domenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.