We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS! And you can order take out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domenica

Domenica
123 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
504 648 6020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal Street
Description: Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS! And you can order take out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

DIVINE! Lots on the menu, the food was DIVINE! Service was great, and you can get take out until 10:00 p.m.! YAY!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    289
    82
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Entrance to the restaurant is difficult to find if one is approaching from within the Roosevelt Hotel, wherein the restaurant is located. No signage. Had to get a bellman to find the place for us. Had to wait for about 20 minutes for any service. Server spent an inordinate amount of time ogling and talking to a scantily clad woman at the table next to us instead of waiting on us. Food was OK, nothing special. When the bill came I found that the restaurant had tacked on a $3.00 charge for "beverage." I figured out this must be for a bottle of water that was placed on our table without our request. Expensive tariff for two for mediocre food and poor service. Stay away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Let me begin by saying that Domenica is located in the historic Roosevelt Hotel. There is a lovely bar there and you should try the famous Sazerac before dinner. Now about Domenica...One of the BEST meals I have ever eaten. The menu is quite extensive with something amazing for all tastes. I, and my friends, did not waste our time on the pizza, though we did see many tables enjoying it. We enjoyed a chefs selection of meats and cheeses as well as the roasted cauliflower and kale appetizers. Our dinners included lasagna, roasted goat and squid ink linguini with crab. All were delicious. We were far to full for dessert but the items on the menu looked very tempting. Our waiter was quite pleasant and the chef quickly supplied a much enjoyed recipe for the kale appetizer. I highly recommend Domenica and will return when I am in New Orleans again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great experience at this John Besh restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great and varied menu for late night friday dining. Too many choices of creative and different dishes. Decent service as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

New Orleans has a wealth of wonderful restaurants and Domenica is another to add to the list of foodie haunts. A large noisy and busy restaurant that always is bustling with activity. The food is very good but not extremely expensive. They do take reservations which is not always the case in New Orleans.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenica also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Domenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.