We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Italinan food in Cajun country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domenica

Domenica
123 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
504 648 6020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,628 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal Street
Description: Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italinan food in Cajun country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having been a John Besh fan for some time, when we were going back to NoLa, needless to say we had to eat here. Located in the Roosevelt Hotel, it's in an area slightly removed from the crazyness of Bourbon street. To start, the cocktails are excellent. The bar menu is essentially the same as the Sazerak Bar down the hall, and they are excellent. Fortunately we went in a small group which did allow us to try many of the menu items. Appetizers were tasty, escpecially the roast cauliflower which came out as the entire head, roasted whole with a whipped feta spread. Simple but delicious. The cheese and salumi were top notch as well. Pastas are well done and cooked perfectly and the main courses are also extremely tasty. I can't name everything we ate because everything was good and as the guy at the table next to us noted, we looked like we ordered the whole menu. Yeah, we were pigs (or cochon, in these parts), but very satisfied pigs. First time visitors may want to stick to old-time favorites like Nola, Commander's Palace, etc, but if you're just a fan of really well made food, put this place on the list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    255
    70
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wish I had more time in NOLA to try John Besh's other locations. This one was great. Pizza were great. The platter of sliced meats and cheeses served with "pork fried beignets" were something else. Super Tuscan at half price during Happy hour. What could be better. Great staff and can't wait to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Late Night Eating at it's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a 3 meat & cheese plate anti pasta apetizer and then indulged in Squid Ink Pasta with crab, it was wonderful. My wife and I split the dish and also had a dish of Gelato that had coffee and carmel in it, wonderful! Highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great chef, great location, extremely mediocre food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went to French Qrtr Fest and all was wonderful until Sunday night at Domenica. This is the 2nd time there, and never again. I can only say that adequate or average, or mediocre is the only way to describe the food for alll 4 of us for the 2nd time in 2 years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Food Fawlty Towers Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ghosts of Fawlty Towers ran amok at a recent dinner with a party of 8 at Domenica.
If the meal wasn't expensive I would have laughed at the parade of errors we watched unfold during this meal. OK, I laughed anyway. But I want to know this, if a restaurant charges 18 dollar for a head of cauliflower can they please bring us a fork?

The evening started when our waiter (who I will not name for mercy on his young inexperienced soul and honest smile) announced that the chef had been gone for two weeks and was doing an offsite dinner and would not be there that night. Hmmmm.

As we went over the menu someone asked about the whole branzino. Not only did he know it was a farmed fish (that's ok) but he didn't recommend it because 'it's a lot of working boning it for me".

Things veered out of control from there climaxing with the most clueless wine service I have witnessed in my life, so bad that when our waiter realized that the red wine we ordered was not in stock he stalled for 10 minutes, disappearing and later admitting he was scared to tell us about it. Then after trying to pour a taste of red wine into a white wine glass that was already used he disappeared again. We finally flagged down a bellboy to get red wine glasses for the rest of us.

The food. Good, pizzas were solid but soggy, pastas innovative and the cauliflower, prepared sous vide and then roasted with a whipped feat spread was one of the better dishes I have had all year. Really special. My goat dish prepared Israeli style with tomatoes and vegetables was delicious and most of us were satisfied with this aspect of the meal.

But you can't make up for the complete and utter chaos that surrounded the meal. If you want to charge big boy prices and play in the real leagues get someone working again in the front of the house. The time to train your staff, why have a beautiful Italian wine list if you do not know what to do with it?

If the chef is reading this it's time to go home and get the house back in order.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenica also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Domenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.