We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domenica

Domenica
123 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
504 648 6020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Domenica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canal Street
Description: Domenica is a contemporary and inviting Italian restaurant that creates regional Italian dishes with southern and middle eastern influences. The cuisine combines Chef Alon Shaya's Israeli heritage and love of local ingredients with a menu that reflects his time spent cooking and living in the small towns of northern Italy.
Weatogue, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Met a friend here for happy hour - had a salumi platter, some wine and a few pizzas. Wonderful modern Italian in a sleek business setting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    413
    210
    61
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of my pizza here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We chose to dine at Domenica as it was near to our hotel and also because there was a NOLA dining magazine in our room that had an article about great pizzas in the city, and Domenica was rated the best. We were not disappointed. We loved our pizzas - smoky bacon and wild mushroom, and the margarita. The pizza was not thin crust but not too thick either - just right - and it had a beautiful doughy consistancy. I never eat my crusts, but I sure did with these pizzas!

Service was prompt and pizzas were hot from the brick oven. Nice sleek diningroom with very large windows. Could accommodate a lot of diners but I never felt it was too noisy or too crowded. Nice area along the bar if you are a single diner or just don't want to sit at a table.

We liked this place so much that we got takeout pizzas the next day to take to the airport to eat on our flight back to Toronto!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but not Besh.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I am a huge Besh fan. Been to August & Luke many times. Was expecting more of the same but not on par. Mostly just lacking atmosphere. Too loud and impersonal for the price point. Food good but without atmosphere, it's not great. Probably just me. I remain a huge fan.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Italian food in New Orleans.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great thin crust pizza, ricotta with THE best bread as an appetizer. Dinners a little pricey but good. Great atmosphere, swanky vibe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The food was great. Not authentic, but still tasty. They offer a wide variety of wines and a very neat happy hour special. The service was average. Overall, good for the money but not five stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenica also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Domenica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domenica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.