We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations, superb hospitality, and excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakview Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Oakview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1172 City Park Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119 (City Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodations, superb hospitality, and excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was my third trip to New Orleans; every year I have volunteered to help rebuild houses still damaged from Katrina in 2005. Each experience has been different, and I keep expanding my knowledge of the city! This year, I stayed at the Oakview Bed and Breakfast, near City Park, which is a short streetcar (or bicycle!) ride away from the Garden District and French Quarter. Staying there was amazing: right across the street the gorgeous park and New Orleans Museum of Art, and less much touristy. Also, the local eateries--within walking distance--are superior to those found in the French Quarter, and much less costly, too! Our host was so friendly, and definitely went out of his way to make us feel at home. Our room, the Asian Willow room, was gorgeous as well, and, when we got a chance to enjoy it, we certainly appreciated the breakfast and coffee in the morning! Keeping in mind that it is not by any means a corporate hotel, and is owned and operated independently, I would certainly recommend the Oakview to others who want a taste of real hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The owner, Russ, was sooooo wonderful to us. He went out of his way to be accomodating, helping us with little things that he didn't need to, like offering bandaids when my friend fell during a run in the park, and sandwich baggies on a day we decided to pack a picnic lunch.

The Oak room was great, and the shower divine! Just to clarify another guests complaint, Russ specifically told us that he doesn't like to bother guests so he wouldn't enter our room unless we asked. He went out of his way to let us know that if we needed anything like towels, garbage clearing, etc he would do it if we asked, but otherwise, he'd stay out of our way. Personally, I appreciated the more homey, rather than hotel-like feel of the place, as well as his commitment to our privacy.

As a footnote, the home-cooked bsicuits are divine!

Room Tip: Oak room has an awesome bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We would stay again at this inn if we ever to visit New Orleans again. It is located very close to the streetcar line and is right across the street from City Park. Each room has a whirlpool tub, flat screen tvs with cable and wall unit ACs. We stayed during the week and ended up having the entire house to ourselves until our last night there. The inn has a bar that guests have access to and this is included in the price. The innkeeper spent time talking to us about the history of the house and his families experience during Katrina and it was very insightful. Russell is a fellow social worker and we had a great conversation. Because we were the only couple there, each morning breakfast was not provided because the catering company only comes if more than one room is rented. The innkeeper recommended a place for breakfast and took the price off the bill for the breakfasts that were not provided. We didn't mind because we prefer to sleep in :-).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at this location since it was close to the park where we were having our wedding photos taken. The owner was so gracious and accommodating. We stayed in the Cypress room which was just so cute. The owner even allowed us to use areas of the B&B for our photoshoot. My fiance and I are even considering making this our weekend hotel after the weeding. The B&B literally looks right into city park so the view is amazing and the streetcar is a stone's throw away if you need to get downtown. The cost of the room was less than that of a hotel downtown too. A total win all the way around.

Room Tip: If you stay here be sure not to miss the biscuits
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

This B&B is in a great location especially for Jazzfest and Voodoo fest. It is across from City Park and a short walk to Bayou St John and Esplanade Avenue. I would stay again. It is a lovely Victorian house with great antiques We stayed in the front Oak room which had a magnificent view of the park and had a separate seating room . It does have some road noise, so light sleepers might want a more interior room. Great cotton sheets and comfortable bed. Russell makes a pleasant hot breakfast with his home-made bisquits. He also has a free bar with drinks to enjoy sitting on the great front porch. There are a few rough edges that are manageable. Russell forgot to replace the battery in the smoke alarm outside our door, so I had to take matters in my own hands and change it. Otherwise a great time. Russell is a Vietnam vet and does show some special favors for fellow vets. So If you are a vet let him know.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1172 City Park Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > City Park , Lakeview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakview is a lovely 100 year old historic Victorian. It is ideally located across the street from the famous City Park and the New Orleans Museum. THat means we are walking distance to Jazz Fest, across the street from Voodoo Fest, two blocks from the start of the Endymion Parade, two blocks from the historic Cemetery, around the corner from Bayou Bugaloo festival, and a very short distance from the French Quarter, downtown and the convention center. The trolly stops in front of the door.Further the crescent city classic race and most other races and marathons ends here at the park across from the bed and breakfast. Unbelievable but true.We also feel that we are at least in the TOP 10 for the best Bed and Breakfast not number 75. WE are totally new, totally renovated and modernly upgraded with whirlpools in every room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.